Mexican Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2014
Yummmmmmy!! We had a brown out recently and I was scrambling how I was going to feed my family and I found this recipe! I already had a roasted chicken from the night before when there was still power, so I picked the meat, chopped it up, and mixed in all the ingredients without sauté ing it. I placed it on top if the stove in the barn, which had been keeping us warm for the past 20 hrs!! I stirred it a couple of times after it got hot. In 15 min it was done! My husband felt bad thinking, with no light and water, i was able to prepare a scrumptious meal! It was inhaled rather quickly!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2014
added garlic and onions. used liquid from beans and corn. yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
More like nachos to me. Hard to eat. I would shred chicken and leave tortilla chips hole cause it's more like a dip or nachos. Good flavor either way
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2014
Loved This recipe! Changed it a bit after reading some reviews. Thank you for a great family dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2014
I made this with the following substitutions/additions: 2 lbs ground turkey for the chicken, 2 c. frozen corn kernels (thawed) for the canned corn, 1 pkg taco sauce instead of salsa. Added 1 can green chiles and some dried onions. Needed to add a little bit of water. Omitted the corn chips. My family of guys loved it. Better the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Patty Dougherty Gebhardt
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2014
Super easy. I added onions that I cooked with the chicken. I also put the entire packet of taco seasoning. Added sour cream and jalapeños as toppings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2014
I haven't tried this recipe yet but it is making my mouth water just reading all the comments. One thing I have found that is GREAT in Mexican dishes is Hominy. It give the dish a little more texture and the corn taste of the hominy is perfect for Mexican dishes. (I always use it in chili) I think I will also use cilantro and lime juice. Making this next week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2014
Great! Here is what I did differently to make this even better: -Used 2 large chicken breasts seasoned with Carne Asada, baked at 350 for 25 min then shredded with a fork instead of cubing. -Sauteed onion and fresh garlic, then added chicken, whole package of HOT taco seasoning, whole jar of HOT good quality salsa, un-drained can of black beans, un-drained can of corn (no H20). Also added some fresh cilantro, hot sauce (Tapatio), can of green chills. I didn't add Jalapenos to this but I would try it! -Made a box of quick Spanish style rice and added the whole thing to the mixture. This makes the casserole less soupy and is AWESOME INSIDE. Highly recommend adding spicy rice. -Tore up flour tortillas, spread one layer at very bottom of Pyrex dish and one layer in the middle of the casserole, also added cheese to the middle of casserole (lasagna-style) - added cheese and crushed up tortilla chips to the top as recommended. Serve with sour cream. I made this for my fiance and some friends, received applause. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CarolynRose33

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
A little dry but served with sour cream was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
This was pretty good. I would make it again but with some changes. As others suggested, I would not drain the corn. It needs the extra liquid. I would also add more salsa...only because my husband and I really love salsa lol. Lastly, I would boil the chicken until tender then shred it rather than cutting it into chunks and cooking it over oil. Thank you for the recipe :).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 645) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mexican Casserole

A cheesy, one-dish Mexican meal with black beans, corn, salsa, and chicken.

Easy Mexican Casserole

See how to make an easy, tasty Mexican casserole.

Pantry Raid Chicken Enchilada Casserole

See how to make a quick-and-easy, cheesy Mexican casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States