Mexican Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2006
I lost a recipe I had that was close to this so I tried it. After reading the reviews I mixed all ingredients, soup, sour cream,chile peppers,milk, and 1 cup cheese together. I also added to this 1 small can salsa verde 7oz (tomatillo sauce).Mix all together.Spray botttom of pan with Pam and spread a small amount of filling across the bottom before putting the tortillas down. I also only used 3 chix breast pieces cooked and cubed and about 6 tortillas. This made it more moist. End with a top layer of sauce and sprinkle with 1 cup cheese. The green sauce adds a amll kick it needs for taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2003
Very good and very easy. I shreaded my chicked rather than diced. It gave it a better texture and accepted the "sauce" better. I also skiped few steps by combining the soup mixture, chicken and cheese before layering. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by YBRICK423

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bristol, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2003
This was delicious and easy to prepare. I just made some minor adjustments: I added sauteed onions to the chicken along with fajita seasoning, used nacho cheese soup as one of the soups and topped it with cheddar cheese french fried onions. Thanks for a great recipe Katherine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Bloomfield, Michigan, USA
Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2003
This is a very good mexican casserole! I used a little more chicken and in addition to the chile peppers, I took the advice of another and added apprx 1/2c salsa. Also, I saved about 1/2c soup mix for the top layer and sprinkled cheese overall to keep the tortillas from becoming rock-hard, which happens after they been baking. Served on a bed of lettuce and we really thought this was a filling and tasty meal! Thanks Katherine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2005
BUT PLEASE ADD TOMATILLO SALSA INSTEAD OF THE CANNED CHILIS! IT HAS A DEEPER TASTE WITHIN THE CASSEROLE! USE EITHER MILD OR HOT TO YOUR PREFERENCE...WE USED HOMEMADE! EXCELLANT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Joliet, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2003
Excellent! This was a definite hit at our house. The leftovers went home with our college age son. I did not use the chilies but instead added about 1 1/2 cups of salsa to soup mixture. This gave the casserole more flavor but did not make it too soupy. I also spooned a bit of salsa on top of the casserole before baking it. It should set for about 15 minutes before serving. We enjoyed this with spanish rice and corn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAMABEAC

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New Creek, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2004
This was easy and very good. I used cream of celery soup instead the mushroom. Added sauteed onions, celery and mushrooms, plus some thawed frozen corn and a can of drained Rotel. I also saved some of the soup mixture to top the last layer before adding the cheese. It is soooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NANCYH

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2001
This was really good and very easy. It needs a little more spice for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kimiko Proctor
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2008
This was pretty good. It did lack something though. It needs some sort of enchilada sauce or tomatillo sauce. My hubby and I threw some Tabasco sauce on it and it helped a lot. I cooked the chicken in Mexican seasoning also. Without the tobasco, I don't think this would've been all that great. I will make this again and try to add something to it and I will double the green chiles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimiko Proctor

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2006
The tortilla strips on the bottom got really hard and crunchy. The overall taste was just ok. Pretty bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Aberdeen, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mexican Casserole

A cheesy, one-dish Mexican meal with black beans, corn, salsa, and chicken.

Easy Mexican Casserole

See how to make an easy, tasty Mexican casserole.

Quick and Easy Mexican Chicken

Seasoned chicken is topped with salsa and cheese and baked to bubbly.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States