Mexican Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2001
This was really good and very easy. It needs a little more spice for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2003
my family enjoyed this recipe although i didnt put cream of mushroom soup in recipe(i used cheese soup instead) it did turn out well...great recipe katherine!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2003
Excellent! This was a definite hit at our house. The leftovers went home with our college age son. I did not use the chilies but instead added about 1 1/2 cups of salsa to soup mixture. This gave the casserole more flavor but did not make it too soupy. I also spooned a bit of salsa on top of the casserole before baking it. It should set for about 15 minutes before serving. We enjoyed this with spanish rice and corn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAMABEAC

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New Creek, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2003
This is a very good mexican casserole! I used a little more chicken and in addition to the chile peppers, I took the advice of another and added apprx 1/2c salsa. Also, I saved about 1/2c soup mix for the top layer and sprinkled cheese overall to keep the tortillas from becoming rock-hard, which happens after they been baking. Served on a bed of lettuce and we really thought this was a filling and tasty meal! Thanks Katherine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2003
I have to give this recipe 5 stars not just for taste, but also for its simple preparation. I have a similar recipe where tortilla "chips" are used in place of the flour tortillas. Either way, it is a great recipe, and one of which my husband never fails to take a second helping! Thanks, Katherine...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Port Angeles, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2003
mmm... this is yummy... i used crushed tortilla chips for the crust, and sauteed anaheim peppers w/the chicken... we liked it alot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by QuakerBaker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monticello, Indiana, USA
Living In: Carthage, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2003
Very good and very easy. I shreaded my chicked rather than diced. It gave it a better texture and accepted the "sauce" better. I also skiped few steps by combining the soup mixture, chicken and cheese before layering. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by YBRICK423

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bristol, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2003
This was delicious and easy to prepare. I just made some minor adjustments: I added sauteed onions to the chicken along with fajita seasoning, used nacho cheese soup as one of the soups and topped it with cheddar cheese french fried onions. Thanks for a great recipe Katherine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Bloomfield, Michigan, USA
Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2003
MY family thought this was just ok. They all agree they will be willing to try it again without the chili peppers. I think it will be really good without them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bolingbrook, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2004
I tossed this out. I followed the suggestions of a couple of reviewers and added some seasoning, as well as some onions and some peppers. This still tasted like a second-rate casserole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:


Displaying results 1-10 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Mexican Casserole

A cheesy, one-dish Mexican meal with black beans, corn, salsa, and chicken.

Easy Mexican Casserole

See how to make an easy, tasty Mexican casserole.

Quick and Easy Mexican Chicken

Seasoned chicken is topped with salsa and cheese and baked to bubbly.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States