Mexican Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by Kimiko Proctor
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2008
This was pretty good. It did lack something though. It needs some sort of enchilada sauce or tomatillo sauce. My hubby and I threw some Tabasco sauce on it and it helped a lot. I cooked the chicken in Mexican seasoning also. Without the tobasco, I don't think this would've been all that great. I will make this again and try to add something to it and I will double the green chiles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimiko Proctor

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2007
Great Tasting. Quick and easy to make! Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Graysville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BerBer23
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2007
It's quick, easy, and a real family pleaser! I recommend this to anyone who doesn't have a lot of time to spend preparing and slaving over a hot stove!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BerBer23

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cabot, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2007
I made this very close to the recipe, with the exception that I used light sour cream and corn tortillas (already had it in the house). I really want to rate this a 2 but I'll give it a 3 because it was neither good nor bad. I'm hoping that maybe I just can't follow directions and I just messed it up. For me, this was bland and not very "mexican". I think it needs chili powder and cumin at least, to give it some taste. I will probably not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Laurel, Maryland, USA
Living In: Ellicott City, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2007
Too rich for my taste. But... I think it could be great with the addition of fresh brocolli or squash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2007
Everyone loved this dish. I added sliced olives and a little salsa to to soup mixture. I will make this again for sure. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CariMel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: College Station, Texas, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2007
Very good. I make a similar one, add 1/2 a medium onion chopped. Mix all the ingredients together and put it in the refrigerator for at least 24 hours. Tastes better and the tortillas are softer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2007
My family absolutely loved this dish. And to think, they are extremely picky eaters!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Altoona, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2007
I made a few changes to the original recipe to add flavor. I added the following spices to the soup mixture: a teaspoon of chili powder, a teaspoon of cumin and a teaspoon of garlic salt. I also used taco seasoning when I cooked the chicken. (I drained the chicken before putting it in the casserole) I also added half a can of diced tomatoes (drained). I used the other half of the canned diced tomatoes to line the bottom of the pan (in place on non-stick spray) It kept the tortillas from getting crunchy as others had mentioned. It was a hit. My boyfriend really liked it. My only complaint was that it was a little too soupy for my liking. Next time I am going to add some drained sweet corn and olives.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Thornton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2006
YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Empire, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mexican Casserole

A cheesy, one-dish Mexican meal with black beans, corn, salsa, and chicken.

Easy Mexican Casserole

See how to make an easy, tasty Mexican casserole.

Quick and Easy Mexican Chicken

Seasoned chicken is topped with salsa and cheese and baked to bubbly.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States