Mexican Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: May 7, 2012
I give this 4 stars, simply because I changed a couple of ingredients to suit my family's taste preferences. My casserole results, I'd give it 4 stars. What I did was substituted 1 can low sodium black beans for ranch style beans (no one likes ranch style beans here). I used regular Petite diced tomatoes (skin on - I wasn't sure why the tomatoes needed to be peeled?), and instead of 2 Tbsp of chili powder, I used about 2/3 of a packet of Taco Bell taco seasoning (I think I added about half a packet, stirred well, tasted it, needed a bit more, but I didn't add the rest of the packet, just a little more, and have some left over, so 2/3 or 3/4 of a packet? tasted again and it was just enough). I also put a layer of shredded cheese in the middle of the casserole in addition to on top. Three out of my family of four liked this casserole and wants me to make it again. I kept thinking it's quite chewy. I wonder if it would work well with layered tortilla chips? Will try that next time. :) **UPDATE** 7/7/12 I completely forgot that I added taco bell taco seasoning to this the last time I made this, which was the first time - also which was the time I put up the review... so tonight, I'm in the kitchen and hmmm. it's missing something, so yah, I added TB taco seasoning to it. lol silly me! I did remember about not wanting to add tortillas, but tortilla chips, so this time, I put the chips on top, covered w/Cheese and baked uncovered for about 20 minutes. NOW it's 5 STARS!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by soldiersgirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: May 6, 2012
delious-absolutely satisfied my mexican food craving. made this for a friend last night but with some adjustments.i used Quorn (soya) mince to lower the fat and we prefer that to meat, used half fat cheese too. i chopped some onions and garlic, browned those off first then added the quorn mince, chooped red and green pepper. i added some left over fajita seasoning, ketchup and sweet chillie sauce (about a tablesppon) as it was tasting bland and lacking that Mexican flavour. tasted great after and before serving, i crumbled some lightly salted nachos on top-yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2012
This is really good. Next time I will try it with sweet corn and olives. Not a big fan of tomatoes so will probably add a smaller can. All it's missing is sour cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2012
This was pretty good. I did add taco seasoning to the meat. I also made Easy Mexican Casserole from this site and liked it better. It had a bit more flavor but this one wasn't bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2012
I doctored this up to suit our Tex-Mex taste, adding black beans instead of ranch, corn, onion, garlic, cumin, salt and red pepper. Used Mexican style cheese, it was wonderful and resembled the taste of a recipe package I had purchased from McCormick a few months ago.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MSLIB5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Bastrop, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2012
Loved it! Wonderful dish and easy to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Haven, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2012
Love the ease and ingredients in this casserole. It was a big hit at my house for my husband and 3 teenagers. I did add chopped white onion to the hamburger meat while it was cooking. I also added a little taco seasoning along with the chili powder like the other reviewers suggested. I put some of the cheddar on top of all the layers too. This recipe is definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2012
Made this recipe for a large group (doubled recipe) and added in per other reviews: taco seasoning, Rotel tomatoes and chiles, can of green chiles, refried beans, frozen bi-color corn. Also put cheese on top of meat at each layer and ended with additional layer of tortilla shells topped with salsa and cheese to finish it off. Super yummy! Got rave reviews at the potluck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2012
We doubled our recipe and the large group of kids we fed loved it. We added onions and garlic when browning the ground beef. We also used cream of chicken soup, one can refried beans & one can black beans, a small bag of frozen corn, and added a can of green chiles for extra spice. We served it with sour cream and black olives for garnishes. We used another persons advice and cut our flour tortillas in strips to avoid too thick of layers (great idea).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
i couldn't find ranch beans in our store so omitted them. also omitted the soup. added salsa & sour cream! turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FIREBRAND95

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

Displaying results 61-70 (of 340) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Mexican Casserole

See how to make an easy, tasty Mexican casserole.

Mexican Casserole

A cheesy, one-dish Mexican meal with black beans, corn, salsa, and chicken.

Taco Casserole

This cheesy, family favorite is the perfect weeknight casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States