Mexican Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2012
This was GREAT! Did my own modifications - substituted Fiesta Nacho CHeese soup for the cream of mushroom - layered the cheese between the tortillas - used two pounds of ground beef - also substituted Rotel for the can of diced tomatoes. - WONDERFUL! Topped it with sour cream and salsa!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARTIWLYNE

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2012
Really Yummy and EASY!! I did as other reviewers recommended; sauteed 1 onion with meat, added 1/2 pckt taco seasoning, sprinkled chili powder to taste, added one can diced chilis, put a small layer of meat on bottom of pan first, added cheese to both layers, not just top. Use the ranch style beans(I used the version with jalapenos), it adds an umph I don't think would be there with other beans! I used ground turkey, but it'd also be good with vegetarian meat crumbles or a sauteed veggie mixture. Like most casseroles, leftovers are better, once it really sets. If making for a party, make the day before and heat up in the oven beforehand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2012
This was okay. The chips are all mushy. I think it would be better to make the sauce, sprinkle with some cheese and then break up some nacho chips on the top as you serve it. Don't think I will make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2012
I make this all the time. It's a really easy dish with not many ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rock_lobster
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2012
Mexican Casserole Haiku: "Messy meal to eat. Needs a flavor boost as well. Not bad, just not great." My husband thought this was good, me, not so much. The smooshy tortilla layers in there seemed unnecessary (make broken tortilla chips baked on top would've been better?), the color was unappealing (ranch-style bean liquid + cream mushroom soup = ew), and the flavor was pretty lacking, even though I added 2 TB of "Taco Seasoning I." Not sure I'd make this again w/o some major tweaks, but it was fun to try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock_lobster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2012
pretty delicious, but not as pretty reheated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2012
Surprisingly delicious!! The kids (2 & 3yr) went crazy for it. I double the amount to make extra to freeze. I used what I had on hand which was taco seasoning, cream of chicken soup, black beans and tomato puree. I only used 2 cups of cheese. It was bubbly and yummy. The only thing I will do differently is to heat the tortillas to soften them and add a double layer of them. I may also try flour tortillas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NANSEAB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Ana, California, USA
Living In: Anaheim, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2012
My family loved it alot. My dad even ate it before I put it in the oven and loved it. I didn't have cream of mushroom soup so I used sour cream, and it still turned out good. I also used refried beans because I didn't have any ranch-style beans, and used flour tortillas after reading the reviews. I added seasonings like tumeric and the chili powder called for in the recipe since I didn't have any taco seasoning. All in all, it was delicious, and will make it again using cream of mushroom soup and taco seasoning. It's definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2012
Whole family liked it! I added some onions, garlic and peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2012
Really yummy! I followed the directions almost exactly. I did layer the cheese on top of the meat on the first layer. I also did not use 4 cups. I used and entire package of the shredded Mexican cheese which I think equates to only 2 cups. Perfect recipe for 2 people and have leftovers for the week!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Simi Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 351) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Mexican Casserole

See how to make an easy, tasty Mexican casserole.

Mexican Casserole

Quick dinner idea for Cinco de Mayo or any day you are craving Mexican food.

Mexican Casserole

A cheesy, one-dish Mexican meal with black beans, corn, salsa, and chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States