Mexican Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2012
pretty delicious, but not as pretty reheated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2012
Surprisingly delicious!! The kids (2 & 3yr) went crazy for it. I double the amount to make extra to freeze. I used what I had on hand which was taco seasoning, cream of chicken soup, black beans and tomato puree. I only used 2 cups of cheese. It was bubbly and yummy. The only thing I will do differently is to heat the tortillas to soften them and add a double layer of them. I may also try flour tortillas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NANSEAB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Ana, California, USA
Living In: Anaheim, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2012
My family loved it alot. My dad even ate it before I put it in the oven and loved it. I didn't have cream of mushroom soup so I used sour cream, and it still turned out good. I also used refried beans because I didn't have any ranch-style beans, and used flour tortillas after reading the reviews. I added seasonings like tumeric and the chili powder called for in the recipe since I didn't have any taco seasoning. All in all, it was delicious, and will make it again using cream of mushroom soup and taco seasoning. It's definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2012
Whole family liked it! I added some onions, garlic and peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2012
Really yummy! I followed the directions almost exactly. I did layer the cheese on top of the meat on the first layer. I also did not use 4 cups. I used and entire package of the shredded Mexican cheese which I think equates to only 2 cups. Perfect recipe for 2 people and have leftovers for the week!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Simi Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2012
This is a good quick casserole. I felt like it could use a bit more flavour, but it's definitely worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2012
I give this 4 stars, simply because I changed a couple of ingredients to suit my family's taste preferences. My casserole results, I'd give it 4 stars. What I did was substituted 1 can low sodium black beans for ranch style beans (no one likes ranch style beans here). I used regular Petite diced tomatoes (skin on - I wasn't sure why the tomatoes needed to be peeled?), and instead of 2 Tbsp of chili powder, I used about 2/3 of a packet of Taco Bell taco seasoning (I think I added about half a packet, stirred well, tasted it, needed a bit more, but I didn't add the rest of the packet, just a little more, and have some left over, so 2/3 or 3/4 of a packet? tasted again and it was just enough). I also put a layer of shredded cheese in the middle of the casserole in addition to on top. Three out of my family of four liked this casserole and wants me to make it again. I kept thinking it's quite chewy. I wonder if it would work well with layered tortilla chips? Will try that next time. :) **UPDATE** 7/7/12 I completely forgot that I added taco bell taco seasoning to this the last time I made this, which was the first time - also which was the time I put up the review... so tonight, I'm in the kitchen and hmmm. it's missing something, so yah, I added TB taco seasoning to it. lol silly me! I did remember about not wanting to add tortillas, but tortilla chips, so this time, I put the chips on top, covered w/Cheese and baked uncovered for about 20 minutes. NOW it's 5 STARS!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by soldiersgirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: May 6, 2012
delious-absolutely satisfied my mexican food craving. made this for a friend last night but with some adjustments.i used Quorn (soya) mince to lower the fat and we prefer that to meat, used half fat cheese too. i chopped some onions and garlic, browned those off first then added the quorn mince, chooped red and green pepper. i added some left over fajita seasoning, ketchup and sweet chillie sauce (about a tablesppon) as it was tasting bland and lacking that Mexican flavour. tasted great after and before serving, i crumbled some lightly salted nachos on top-yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2012
This is really good. Next time I will try it with sweet corn and olives. Not a big fan of tomatoes so will probably add a smaller can. All it's missing is sour cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2012
This was pretty good. I did add taco seasoning to the meat. I also made Easy Mexican Casserole from this site and liked it better. It had a bit more flavor but this one wasn't bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 336) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Easy Mexican Casserole

See how to make an easy, tasty Mexican casserole.

Mexican Casserole

A cheesy, one-dish Mexican meal with black beans, corn, salsa, and chicken.

Taco Casserole

This cheesy, family favorite is the perfect weeknight casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States