Mexican Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
Wow! This was great! I added green chiles and a chopped onion. So delicious served with salsa and sour cream and heated up well for leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2011
My husband gave it a four, I think it tasted like a can of hormel chile and would have given it 2 stars but it was super easy and hubby liked it so 3 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2011
This was GREAT!! My hubby said "you can make this anytime"..and proceeded eat leftovers for breakfast, lunch and dinner. I used kidney beans (2 cans)..added some sour cream and didnt use the 4 cups of cheese the recipe called for (that seemed like a LOT of cheese)...even with the 2 or so cups I used, this was still mega cheesey!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tim AndJoelle Haseley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2011
Super recipe! With our Southern Ontario Canada, EH - hot weather, I cooked it on indirect heat on the BBQ. Also, for 2 of us, made it in an 8" oven proof glass casserole dish using refried beans (pinto).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2011
Yummy! My husband and daughter and I really liked this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2011
this is a nice recipe as you can make it your own with as many or few adds or changes as you desire!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2011
Delicious but the recipe above is bland. I added Rotel instead of plain tomatoes, Jalapeno beans instead of "ranch" beans, Taco seasoning (bought as a packet at any grocery store) to the beef, and splashed some cholula over it before I put it in the oven. I also added more cheese than the recipe called for too. It was spicy and amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2011
This casserole is SO delicious! I used 1 packet of taco seasoning when cooking the ground beef. I think that is a must for adding Mexican flavor to the dish! I used flour tortillas instead of corn because I prefer the taste. Also, as other reviewers recommended, I used a can of diced tomatoes mixed with mild green chilies. I was worried about the casserole being too spicy, so I added a sprinkle of chili powder over the mixture rather than 2 full tablespoons. The level of spice and flavor was perfect! My one teeny tiny complaint is that the bottom tortillas stuck to the bottom of the pan... next time I'll try using Pam before layering the ingredients in. I served this with steamed corn, sour cream, and salsa. My husband had 2 massive helpings! I will absolutely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Missy

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Payson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2011
The recipe is ok. I made a few modifications to make it more flavorful. First I used two 10oz cans of Rotel diced tomatoes with green chillis. I used williams Taco season with the ground beef and I cut about half a yellow onion and added it to the ground beef. I also put cheese on both the layers and jalepenos. I used a mexican blend cheese with a cheddar cheese. I also used corn tortillas instead of flour. I served it with sour cream and hot salsa. My husband liked it but it's not one of my favorites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2011
This is an extremely bland casserole. It needs something to jazz it up, but I don't cook very much so I'm not sure what to suggest. Even though it was too bland for me, I think this would be a great casserole for kids. I remember when my son was very young, he didn't like anything spicey. I think he would have liked this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 337) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Mexican Casserole

See how to make an easy, tasty Mexican casserole.

Mexican Casserole

A cheesy, one-dish Mexican meal with black beans, corn, salsa, and chicken.

Taco Casserole

This cheesy, family favorite is the perfect weeknight casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States