Mexican Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2014
One of my fave recipes! To make this way better---- here is what I do diff. Cook the meat with a packet of taco seasoning like you would do for tacos. Simmer the taco meat with chili or ranch beans with a can of rotel 25 mins.or longer.. if using lean meat. Then add the mushroom soup to the mixture last. Mix in a few Crushed lime chips too many will make it too dry I like alot though!, then spread mixture in a casserole dish & put cubed Velveeta where you want it.. & push them down with a fork. until under the mixture. Bake Covered with foil. 30 mins till Bubbly... then add the crushed corn chips stick bake in uncovered & toast a few mins. Then i add a sprinkle of cheddar over that to melt. These changes make it way better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
Gave it 4 stars because I did a lot of tweaking as others suggested. Added onions to beef, taco seasoning and 2 tsp of chili, a bit of sour cream and a can of green chilis to mix. I used refried beans because my grandson is not crazy about beans. Started layer with meat then tortillas then cheese. Did that twice and topped with cheese mixed with crushed tacos. Was tasty and not dry at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by genski84
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2014
I kind of cheated but glad I did. Made it so good I think. I used refried bean instead of ranch, added two dollops of sour cream, my favorite salsa instead of tomatoes, and cooked the meat in McCormick taco seasoning, sprinkled with green onions when on plate. My husband and son both had seconds. Definitely cooking this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
This is the best recipe I have ever used from this site. Don't feel that you must use all of the suggested changes. I used the chili powder (not taco powder) and I did not reduce the amount of cheese, and it was great. I did use flour tortillas, and refried beans instead of ranch beans. Unlike lasagna, this cuts into nice solid pieces, without the ingredients running all over the place. It's just a fantastic recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
Love this recipe! So tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
I couldn't find corn tortillas at my grocery store, so I used crunchy corn tostadas and those worked really well! I also sliced 3 jalapenos and put them in with the meat mix. This gave it a good kick; but even without the peppers this recipe has a lot of flavor. Highly recommended!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by T Plums

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tardis
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2013
I'm going to make this a gain! Fantastic. I did add 2 sereno peppers which I chopped up and cooked in the hamburger before adding the other ingredients. I really like how this turned out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2013
Like other reviewers I added 1/2 envelope of taco seasoning and reduced chili powder to 1 T. I personally do not eat mushrooms, so I substituted the canned soup with @ 1 c. sour cream. We topped with shredded iceberg lettuce, salsa, guacamole, and my son even crushed up some Doritos and loved it. Very good and will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
Added chopped green chiles, corn, and sour cream...yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
This was a great recipe, I made modifications to it. I added olives, green chilies, and corn, carrots, peas, and green beans (mixed veggies) combination. Kids loved it, we loved it, it was a huge hit in my house!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 328) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Easy Mexican Casserole

See how to make an easy, tasty Mexican casserole.

Mexican Casserole

A cheesy, one-dish Mexican meal with black beans, corn, salsa, and chicken.

Taco Casserole

This cheesy, family favorite is the perfect weeknight casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States