Mexican Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2014
I changed the recipe quite a bit and I shouldn't have. I used Rotel instead of tomatoes, no soup mixture but added a can of Enchilada sauce. I had bbq'd a flank steak the night before and used it for the meat. The meat part worked out OK but the wife thought the dish was way to spicy, and it was quite hot. I will probably do it again but keep the spices down a bit next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TEFARMER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chatham, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2014
I will make this casserole again, it was good, not excellent. I too added cumin, I/4 tsp., 1/2 c sour cream, 1 c corn and split it into two casserole dishes since there are just two of us. Served it with lettuce and tomatoes,additional sour cream. black olives would be great as well. Someone wrote that this casserole is dr, I don't know how, we found it very moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2014
It was acceptable. Will keep it in the mix for occasional use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ValleyDawn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2014
BEST MEXICAN DISH EVER!!! While left-overs were a-plenty, we ate this three meals in a row! Add a little sour cream and wrap in a flour tortilla and you have an instant awesome burrito!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jenks, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2014
My wife and I loved this and I stayed with the recipe, the only thing I done differently was for our personal taste is I added 1 lb. ground beef, 1/4 tsp. of chili powder, topped with cilantro and sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eatumup

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bradford, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kimi
Reviewed: May 13, 2014
So easy for how delicious this is! Serve with sour cream and fresh sliced green onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2014
easy to make. everyone loved it. added 1/2 can of corn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2014
I was hesitant about the mushroom soup, but it worked well for holding the tomatoes&meat together, and tasted great with all the other seasonings. If you didn't know the recipe, you would not think this dish had mushroom soup in it from the taste of it.This was easy and tasted good. Next time around, I will look for ways to reduce salt (prepared beans and soup, plus tomatoes add up to a lot of salt) -- but this is a great recipe for tweaking. I used turkey instead of beef and it tasted great.The casserole looked good and held together when served. I did what others mentioned and added some cheese between layers. 2.5 cups of cheese was plenty for us, but if you love melted cheese then the 4 cups would be for you. Somehouw, I ended up with a layer of tortillas on top -- rather than meat mixture-- and it worked fine with cheese atop that. Not messy when served. This is great comfort food, or Midwestern potluck fare. So easy to make and you can customize to your liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2014
Awesome Sauce! I couldn't find Ranch beans so I used re-fried beans. And I also added taco seasoning instead of chili powder. Other than those two things, I followed the recipe. It was great! I loved it, dad loved it and so did the kinds. I also added shredded cheese to the middle layer and lettuce and sour cream to the top of the finished products. Great easy weeknight meal. THANKS
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by honey4beez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2014
One of my fave recipes! To make this way better---- here is what I do diff. Cook the meat with a packet of taco seasoning like you would do for tacos. Simmer the taco meat with chili or ranch beans with a can of rotel 25 mins.or longer.. if using lean meat. Then add the mushroom soup to the mixture last. Mix in a few Crushed lime chips too many will make it too dry I like alot though!, then spread mixture in a casserole dish & put cubed Velveeta where you want it.. & push them down with a fork. until under the mixture. Bake Covered with foil. 30 mins till Bubbly... then add the crushed corn chips stick bake in uncovered & toast a few mins. Then i add a sprinkle of cheddar over that to melt. These changes make it way better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 336) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Easy Mexican Casserole

See how to make an easy, tasty Mexican casserole.

Mexican Casserole

A cheesy, one-dish Mexican meal with black beans, corn, salsa, and chicken.

Taco Casserole

This cheesy, family favorite is the perfect weeknight casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States