Mexican Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2014
My grandkids loved these brownies. I made a batch for Cinco de Mayo and they were a hit. For some reason mine always come out like cake. Perhaps I need to reduce the amount of eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chas
Living In: Spencer, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
This is an excellent recipe. I followed the recipe as is, only difference is I had to use a 9x 13" pan so the baking took much longer (about 45 mins maybe) and I substituted the pequin powder with cayenne pepper. The brownies came out not quite cake-like but not quite fudge like either. Very moist and flavorful. Not very spicy, so little kids can eat them too. I will try to find that pequin powder because I want more kick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2014
Wow! I'm a huge brownie fan, so I had to try this. I have what I consider to be a perfect recipe, but I'm always willing to try another. Since I don't have a 12x15 baking pan (I have a baking sheet, but I wasn't comfortable using it since I didn't know how much rise I'd get), I cut it to 2/3 so I could use a 9x13 pan. Well, when I did, guess what? It's my brownie recipe, with baking powder added. For those of you who like more fudgy brownies, just leave out the baking powder. I wanted to try it as written (though scaled down), and while I couldn't get hold of pequins, I did find a jar of Mexican cinnamon. By the way, Mexican cinnamon is also known as Ceylon cinnamon; it's milder than the cinnamon we're used to, without the bite and it's got some fruity notes as well. I also used Hershey's Dark Chocolate cocoa powder, so these are definitely not your grandma's brownies. These are wonderful brownies; since it doesn't have the bite, you are left wondering about that wonderful taste that's reminiscent of the cinnamon you're used to but not quite the same. Then you get just a touch of heat (mostly just a warmth in the back of your throat). And the dark chocolate brings a richness to the entire dish. Give it a try; you'll be glad you did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2014
Just made this recipe with the alternate ingredients suggested because I did not find pequin pepper nor Mexican cinnamon. I will try the cayenne pepper next time. The Mexican hot chili pepper did not come through in flavor. I don't care for the consistency. Overall still a brownie and still yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Devinn Soudijn
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2014
These are just the best Brownies ever! I had to use Chipotle Chile powder, it was the only one I had left in the house but they were amazing, my kids loved them, my husband loved them and they will be being made again. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Battle, Sussex, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2014
This is an excellent brownie. My latest version had 1/2 butter, 1/2 coconut oil. I might use an applesauce/coconut oil combination next time, leaving out the butter altogether . . . I could not find the pequin chile. The first time I made them, I used the cayenne sub - but it needs to be at least doubled. I want more heat to them. This time, I threw a dried ancho chile in my food processor - and ended up using the entire thing [~4 tsp] - still not enough heat. I thinking next time I will probably use both the ancho and the cayenne. By the way, this is a moist brownie - and I think it would be lovely, even without the cinnamon and chile . . .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gammaray (=

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
Won't make again because I don't like cake brownies and that is what this is. A good brownie to me is moist & not dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Watertown, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2013
Made these for my husband's birthday. He's not a sweets person, but does like a spicy chocolate. They disappeared pretty quickly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LEMURONE

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2013
SOOOOOOO Good! I love chili and chocolate, and this was a great combo. The perfect balance, and I loved that the brownies were not too dense, I prefer a lighter brownie. I just used normal cayenne pepper and cinnamon and it turned out fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2013
I made this recipe for my daughter's birthday and it was very good. I didn't have butter in the house when I made this, so I used vegetable oil. I thought they would be too oily, but they weren't. They were good. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Mexican Casserole

See how to make an easy, tasty Mexican casserole.

Jimmy's Mexican Pizza

Taco night meets pizza night with this Mexican-style deep-dish pizza.

Chunky Cheesecake Brownies

Decadent, rich, chocolaty dessert that's a combination of brownies and cheesecake

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States