Mexican Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2014
Wow! I'm a huge brownie fan, so I had to try this. I have what I consider to be a perfect recipe, but I'm always willing to try another. Since I don't have a 12x15 baking pan (I have a baking sheet, but I wasn't comfortable using it since I didn't know how much rise I'd get), I cut it to 2/3 so I could use a 9x13 pan. Well, when I did, guess what? It's my brownie recipe, with baking powder added. For those of you who like more fudgy brownies, just leave out the baking powder. I wanted to try it as written (though scaled down), and while I couldn't get hold of pequins, I did find a jar of Mexican cinnamon. By the way, Mexican cinnamon is also known as Ceylon cinnamon; it's milder than the cinnamon we're used to, without the bite and it's got some fruity notes as well. I also used Hershey's Dark Chocolate cocoa powder, so these are definitely not your grandma's brownies. These are wonderful brownies; since it doesn't have the bite, you are left wondering about that wonderful taste that's reminiscent of the cinnamon you're used to but not quite the same. Then you get just a touch of heat (mostly just a warmth in the back of your throat). And the dark chocolate brings a richness to the entire dish. Give it a try; you'll be glad you did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2014
Just made this recipe with the alternate ingredients suggested because I did not find pequin pepper nor Mexican cinnamon. I will try the cayenne pepper next time. The Mexican hot chili pepper did not come through in flavor. I don't care for the consistency. Overall still a brownie and still yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Devinn Soudijn
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2014
These are just the best Brownies ever! I had to use Chipotle Chile powder, it was the only one I had left in the house but they were amazing, my kids loved them, my husband loved them and they will be being made again. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Battle, Sussex, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2014
This is an excellent brownie. My latest version had 1/2 butter, 1/2 coconut oil. I might use an applesauce/coconut oil combination next time, leaving out the butter altogether . . . I could not find the pequin chile. The first time I made them, I used the cayenne sub - but it needs to be at least doubled. I want more heat to them. This time, I threw a dried ancho chile in my food processor - and ended up using the entire thing [~4 tsp] - still not enough heat. I thinking next time I will probably use both the ancho and the cayenne. By the way, this is a moist brownie - and I think it would be lovely, even without the cinnamon and chile . . .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
Won't make again because I don't like cake brownies and that is what this is. A good brownie to me is moist & not dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Watertown, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2013
Made these for my husband's birthday. He's not a sweets person, but does like a spicy chocolate. They disappeared pretty quickly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LEMURONE

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2013
SOOOOOOO Good! I love chili and chocolate, and this was a great combo. The perfect balance, and I loved that the brownies were not too dense, I prefer a lighter brownie. I just used normal cayenne pepper and cinnamon and it turned out fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2013
I made this recipe for my daughter's birthday and it was very good. I didn't have butter in the house when I made this, so I used vegetable oil. I thought they would be too oily, but they weren't. They were good. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2013
i think i added too much paprika, because they are superspicy, believe me i'm a real mexican
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
These were awesome!! I have so many chile pequins I don't know what to do with them all. The majority of the company that I had over when I made these were hispanic. They didn't get the 'mexican' brownie thing, but for me (a transplant from up north) the addition of cinnamon and chiles made them totally mexican. Yum! I just used plain cinnamon since I'm not a food connoisseur, I couldn't tell the difference. Next time I would probably double the chiles though. Either way, this is my favorite brownie recipe ever! Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Mexican Casserole

See how to make an easy, tasty Mexican casserole.

Jimmy's Mexican Pizza

Taco night meets pizza night with this Mexican-style deep-dish pizza.

Mexican Rice III

Watch how to make this top-rated Mexican rice dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States