Mexican Botana Platter Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2014
My family also makes a Botana but we top ours with beans, taco seasoned ground beef, sauteed diced green bell peppers and onions, pepperoni, green olives and we use Munster cheese. There's just something unique about the flavor combination with the pepperoni and green olives! It's one of our favorite meals and we often have it as a celebration for birthdays. Us kids are all grown now and have our own families but we all love a good Botana :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
Just as with Cajun-style shrimp boils, family & friends gathered around the table helping themselves to a huge, scrumptious botana platter can evoke fond memories which long outlast the meals! Excellent recipe, excellent outcome! Added a beautiful Mexican flan for dessert. For those concerned about the leftover guacamole getting yucky, considered adding guacamole seasoning that can be found in packets at supermarkets; it keeps my guacamole edible for several days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2012
wonderful recipe! I grew up in the Rio Grand Valley and have missed eating these! Thank you for posting this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2012
Excellent! The cilantro made a lot of difference in the flavor of the meat mixture. The peppers and onions were surprisingly good, but I sprinkled with extra FRESH peppers and onions like our local restaurant was extra YUM!! I also used homemade refried beans and restaurant-purchased fresh chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
No, no, no. Many of the reviews mention skipping the very important step of frying the tortillas, in favor of buying bagged chips! Do not do this. My family has been making Botana for many years and many have tried this. It doesn't taste anywhere near as good nor as authentically Mexican, with bagged chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2011
This was very good. The only thing I did differently was to add more seasoning and made Luvann's guacamole (from this site). My family objected to frying the tortillas for health reasons, so everyone made their own fajita burrito. I really want to try it with the fried tortillas, so I will make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RALWATTAR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2011
I made this last night and it was phenomenal! My boyfriend is from Texas, and we currently live on the Jersey Shore. He works very hard, 6 days a week at an Italian restaurant. Since he works late every night, he usually misses dinner with the family, so every Saturday night I make him a big meal to come home to, and this week he wanted something in the line of fajitas. This recipe looked so good, and it did not fail to WOW him. I made it mostly verbatim, with the exception of the guacamole - I didn't have any lemon pepper on hand so I used regular pepper, and added a splash of lemon juice and lime juice to the guac, and it was SO good, he ate three servings and was so full he couldn't move for awhile, lol. He's bringing some in to work today to show it off to his coworker, who is from Mexico, and I'm pretty interested to see what he thinks since his wife is an amazing cook when it comes to authentic Mexican food. I was very very pleased with this recipe and it is now a regular in my recipe keeper, thanks Rhonda35 for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2009
Excellent dish. Time consuming but worth it! The leftovers and just as yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Orem, Utah, USA
Living In: Flagstaff, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2009
This was excellent! Served with warm tortillas, the spanish rice from this site, and mmm mmm good traditional margaritas, everyone loved it. I made only minor changes - used probably double the amount of fajita seasoning and used refried black beans instead of regular. In a pinch I would use storebought chips, but the homemade were fabulous, really made it impressive, and were well worth the effort, which really wasn't that big of a deal (made the day before and put in airtight container). The only thing I would do differently next time is serve the avacado/guac on the side because if you have leftovers (and you likely will!) it turns brown and looks and tastes ugly, even having added lime juice as a retardant. Definitely give this one a try for your next Mexican feast. It's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DIZ♥
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2009
This is an excellent dish for any party. It takes a lot of work and time, but you can make it simple and easy. For example, you can make the chips and meat a day or so ahead of time and then all you have to do is assemble and bake when you are ready to serve. I also agree with others about buying chips. With so many brands to chose from, you can easily find a comparable chip and save yourself a lot of time. Finally, this recipe makes a ton! I only made 1/4 of the recipe. I highly recommend that unless you are making this as a main dish item for an extremely large family with big appetites, you might want to consider cutting it in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DIZ♥

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Mexican Chicken

Seasoned chicken is topped with salsa and cheese and baked to bubbly.

Mexican Casserole

A cheesy, one-dish Mexican meal with black beans, corn, salsa, and chicken.

Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat

See how to turn chuck roast into a spicy, tender meat filling for tacos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States