Mexican Beef Supreme Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: May 6, 2008
This is a very good, and forgiving recipe as long as you do as other reviewers have done and simmer it longer. I ended up burning it a little because I didnt add water, but it was still fantastic. I've never had cilantro/lemon beef before, but I certainly will in the future. It's a great blend of flavors. It's also a great way to make use of cheap cuts of beef to stretch a dollar. Minor addition: We had some frozen shrimp in the freezer. As the beef was finishing up, I sauteed them in olive oil with some leftover cilantro. When the shrimp was nearly done, I mixed in the beef mixture and pretty much just let it warm for a few minutes. The shrimp had a nice light flavor which complemented the beef very nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Apple Valley, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2008
I made this recipe last night for my husband who is also mexican. It was fantastic!! I pretty much made it as written except I cubed the steak into small cubes and cooked it for about 40 minutes. I also doubled the salsa verde. I served it with black refried beans, whole grain spanish rice. I slightly browned some corn tortillas in the frying pan with some oil so we could make tacos. A little sour cream on the tortilla, beans, rice and the meat mixture and presto...an awesome dinner. My husband loved it. I will definitely be making this on a regular basis.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2008
I thought it was alright, I'm not big on Jalepeno flavour but the family loved it and have been bothering me to make it again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Brooklin, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2008
What a great recipe! My husband loved this recipe and I substituted Chicken for the beef and used corn tortillas to roll the chicken in. It was delicious! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2008
Oh so good....!! followed the the recipe... except used a 16oz jar of mild salsa verde. After browning the meat... I put everything in the crock-pot for 5 hours. Meat was really tender and all the flavors blended nicely! I can't wait to share this recipe with my Mexican sister in law... think she will be impressed! Thanks for submitting it.. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2007
This was really good! I used hot salsa verde, and the jalapeno. I love spicy food, but that was a bit much, it overpowered the other flavors. The meat was a bit tough for me, but I think that it would be okay if it was cut into smaller peices. Next time I am going to try making it with green bell pepper instead of onions and garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clearwater, Florida, USA
Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2007
Yummy! Yummy! Yummy! A new family favourite. I skipped the jalep. as my husband is super-sensitive to them, but I substituted a spicy green salsa for the kick. Also,I used white onions and they got too mushy, so I recommend a sturdier onion. I think I'll try it with shredded meat next time and serve it in tortillas. *** I made this again while visiting family, only I used leftover cooked chicken and served it in tortillas - they LOVED it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Genevieve

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Gibbons, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2007
great recipe..simple to make.got back from the grocery store without the green salsa or the beef(oops) so I improvised by using chicken tenders from the butcher,cut up small, which made for a shorter cooking time and red salsa...it was wonderful no leftovers.I'll make a larger batch next time..good job boyfriend and Melissa for sharing this recipe..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KRNLANCE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bremerton, Washington, USA
Living In: Tahuya, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2007
My family loves this recipe, with changes of course. We use pork instead of beef and we cook in the slow cooker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura S

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2007
This is an awesome recipe. My husband is from Mexico and he loved this recipe when I made it tonight. My husband and kids asked me to make it at least once a week. I took some reviews and combined them. My grocery store didn't have stew meat so I used round steak and diced it real small. I cooked the onions and garlic in a little oil. After a few minutes I added the beef(and salt) and cooked the meat until browned. Next I added the cilantro mixture. Finally I took the pan with the meat, onions and cilantro mixture and added it to my crockpot. I then added two 7 ounce cans of green salsa. I let it cook in my crockpot on low for about 6 hours. The meat was very tender. We made soft tacos with the meat and served mexican rice on the side. Thanks for an amazing recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 122) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat

See how to turn chuck roast into a spicy, tender meat filling for tacos.

Easy Mexican Casserole

See how to make an easy, tasty Mexican casserole.

Jimmy's Mexican Pizza

Taco night meets pizza night with this Mexican-style deep-dish pizza.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States