Mexican Beef Supreme Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
We enjoyed this dish quite a bit! Thank you! While it drives me nuts when reviewers rate a recipe when they've made all kinds of changes to it, I have to admit that I did add 1 tsp. of cumin to the mix because I am crazy for that spice! With or without the addition, it is a wonderful dish. Some words of advice -- cut the meat into evenly-sized pieces; most definitely simmer the meat until tender, while making certain that the meat is covered with enough salsa to keep it from drying out (I simmered it for 2 hours based on other reviews and the fact that my pieces of meat were rather large); the beef will only be as good as the green salsa that you use, so use whatever kind is your favorite for best results. You could certainly play with the "heat" of this recipe by adding more jalapenos if desired. 1 pound of meat was not enough for 4 people, however. Next time I will double the recipe. All in all, a super recipe -- thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Carlsbad, California, USA
Living In: Oceanside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
Yumm-o. I added a little miso paste to give depth to the flavor, doubled the amount of salsa and a little water since I simmered it for an hour I didn't want the liquid to cook off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ndejong765

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
Delicious. Making this tonight for the second time in two weeks. Everyone loved it. I like my meat a little saucier so I used two small cans green chile (Embasa) sauce, and I let the meat simmer on low for about 1.5 hours. Very tasty. We eat it with rice and corn tortillas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2011
This has turned into a favorite at my house:) I have made it for company and everyone loves it. I put everything into the crockpot and let it do its job and by the time dinner rolls around its perfect. We eat it with corn tortillas, beans and rice, or with buns, it makes a wonderful sandwich. worth more than a five star rating!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mkidder
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
Really Good!! I put this in the crockpot before going to work in the morning. When I got home, I made some cheese enchiladas and smothered them with the Mexican Beef Supreme that had been cooking all day. My family gobbled it up!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lauriann1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: South Jordan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
Made according to directions. Did let meat simmer about an hour, but it was VERY tough. My husband said that if the meat does NOT have any fat...you just cook it a short amount of time. Will try again with different meat or cook the lean meat the 10 minutes they recommend in this recipe. Good recipe though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2011
I made this in my crockpot on high for 4 hours - added 2 cups of beef broth, plenty of garlic, browned the beef and added 16 oz. verde salsa and a small can of green chiles. Added the green onion, lime juice cilantro about 20 minutes before serving. It was fantastic! This is definitely going to be one my weekly "go to" recipes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by VictoriaSe49896
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
Made this for my husband and it smelled awesome. I was surprised because it was much thicker than I expected but the smell and taste was great. This might be good as a filler in a wrapper or over Spanish rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VictoriaSe49896

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Westminster, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2010
This was pretty good. Hubby liked it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Chesterfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
I hosted a book club meeting this weekend, and I made a Mexican-inspired meal to go along with our book of choice, set in Mexico. This recipe was delicious! I made a few adjustments for personal taste--I double the lime, jalapeños, and the salsa verde. I left it in the slow cooker for about three hours, and the meat was delicious and tender. I served it with toasted corn tortillas, sour cream, a side of cucumber salsa, and flan for dessert. What a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Binghamton, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 121) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat

See how to turn chuck roast into a spicy, tender meat filling for tacos.

Jimmy's Mexican Pizza

Taco night meets pizza night with this Mexican-style deep-dish pizza.

Easy Mexican Casserole

See how to make an easy, tasty Mexican casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States