Mexican Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
This was great!!! I added some salt to the beans in the last hour and it really made a difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Owensboro, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2008
OMG...these are SOOO good. I was in a bit of a hurry, checking side dish recipes to go with my carne asada tacos, at 4:00 pm on a Sunday. I happened, though, to have canned pintos in my pantry. I followed the recipe substituting the canned pintos. YUMMY! My sweetie loved them too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HopeLivzOn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Martinez, California, USA
Living In: Oakley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2010
This was delicious. It was the first time I've ever made beans from dry beans (from scratch). My daughter had requested homemade BRC burritos (beans,rice,cheese) like from El Pollo Loco. This recipe tasted even better than theirs!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HB Sue

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pasadena, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2010
Loved these beans! My mother in law makes THE BEST frijoles rancheros. I'd been wanting to make them myself and let me tell you, this was the best recipe I found. They smelled great and tasted even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mayra

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2010
Our family loved this recipes, it tasted better the next day.. GREAT leftovers with rice, the perfect meal. I added more pepers as the first batch was not spicy enough for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Ketchikan, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2010
Everyone loved these beans. My brother said they were the best beans he ever had! Great flavor. I had canned beans so I used those instead, which reduced the cooking time. Other than that, I did the recipe as listed. This is going in our favorites box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FoolishHeart

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2006
My husband called these beans "southwest" style, rather than Mexican, but he loved them. He did suggest using a smoked hamhock rather than bacon. Very tasty without being too spicy for "northerners".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2008
Love these beans! I always substitute canned beans instead of dry beans to save time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arvada, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2008
The recipe serves up a very tasty bowl of beans! I grew up on these types of beans and this recipe rates up there in the "Like Mama used to make". It is easy to follow with simple steps. The servings are hearty and can serve as a meal all on its own. Anyone interested can mix the leftover beans with chorizo sausage on tortillas and make another great meal
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Scotdog
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2007
We have eaten these for about a week now. Delish! They go with so many meals. Even had them at brunch with egg tacos. Used a little bit of worcheshire. Lots of garlic. Some of our homemade salsa. Cooked them longer than suggested. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scotdog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mexican Rice III

Watch how to make this top-rated Mexican rice dish.

Refried Beans without the Refry

See how easy (and delicious) it is to make refried beans in your slow cooker!

Javi’s Really Real Mexican Ceviche

See how to make spicy, citrusy shrimp and scallop ceviche, Mexican-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States