Mexican Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2008
Loved this recipe. Made some changes and they tasted like the restaurant ranchero beans. I presoaked the beans by putting them in hot water and letting them sit while we went to church (I actually goofed and threw 1/2 pinto beans and 1/2 blackeyed peas by mistake, but it turned out great!) When I got home around 2ish, I transferred them (with their liquid) to the crockpot. I added 1 tsp cumin, 1 tsp chili powder, 1 tsp garlic powder and 1 tsp bacon grease (didn't have bacon). I let this cook for a couple of hours and then added a large handful of fresh chopped cilantro. (I didn't use the jalapeno or tomato.) I added salt (about 1/2 to 1 Tbl)to taste near the end of cooking time. It took about 4 hrs to get a great tasting bean with some juice. You could drain and mash (I "mash" in the blender with some liquid) to get refried beans - might try that with some leftovers, if there is some! Great recipe! Did cut in half though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
119 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2004
These were very good and easy..I cut the recipe in half since it was serving for 24..made plenty for 8-12 people. Also I soaked dry beans overnight and then cooked in crockpot with all ingredients all the next day adding a teaspoon and 1/2 of cumin which I think gave it more flavor..seemed a bit bland without...they were great..a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
101 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2007
Was really hungry for a warm pot of beans and this did it! Had no fresh tomato so put in a can of diced with green chilie. Also soften up a couple of cloves of minced garlic with the onion, jalapeno and bacon. These were seasoned just right!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetBasil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Liberty Hill, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2009
Gave it 4 stars, because I had to add a bunch of seasoning to the mix. Added cumin (2 tsp), chili powder (1 tsp), and salt (2 tsp) and it was still a little bland. Then I added some homemade taco seasoning (2 T) and cayenne (1/2 tsp). DELICIOUS after the seasonings were added! This is a great building block recipe. You can spice up or down. Yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2008
OMG...these are SOOO good. I was in a bit of a hurry, checking side dish recipes to go with my carne asada tacos, at 4:00 pm on a Sunday. I happened, though, to have canned pintos in my pantry. I followed the recipe substituting the canned pintos. YUMMY! My sweetie loved them too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HopeLivzOn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Martinez, California, USA
Living In: Oakley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2011
IMO, anyone who bothers to soak their beans first is just wasting time! All I need is a few hours to cook them, on the weekend or after supper for the next day. There is one thing that is not mentioned, you need salt but not till After they have softened or they will not get soft. I use chicken bouillon. I season these beans with almost anything in the spice rack,bay leaves, smoked paprika, garlic, cumin,pepper,oregano. My hubby loves beans and would eat them every day. If you want to make Cowboy beans out of this, use a can of pickled jalapenos,chorizo,ham,bacon,tomato, cilantro. These are Great for a party! Garnish with sliced radishes, cheese and sour cream. Thank you sheilamichael for sharing this wonderful dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty Cakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA
Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2008
These are great - they taste like the beans at our neighborhood Mexican place. I trimmed most of the fat off of my bacon and added a little diced ham that needed to be used. I also left the lid off for the last hour, stirring occasionally, to thicken the 'sauce' a little. We added a little s & p, and some hot sauce when it was served. I halved this recipe this time - and wish I hadn't. Next time I'm going all the way so I can have some leftover. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2006
My husband called these beans "southwest" style, rather than Mexican, but he loved them. He did suggest using a smoked hamhock rather than bacon. Very tasty without being too spicy for "northerners".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2012
OMG!!!!!!! What a FANTASTIC recipe! I have been trying to master this style of beans for a decade and thanks to this recipe, I finally have! I made as written (as in I didn't omit anything), but added 1 Tbsp cumin 1 tsp chile powder and garlic powder and my secret ingredient was 1 Tbsp of dried minced onion. The saltiness and potent flavor of the minced onion really pushed this dish over the top. I also briefly blended them in my food processor for a more "refried" consistency, It also blends the flavors really well. Thanks so much for sharing the recipe, it is a keeper!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen DeLaCova

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Placentia, California, USA
Living In: Corona, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Scotdog
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2007
We have eaten these for about a week now. Delish! They go with so many meals. Even had them at brunch with egg tacos. Used a little bit of worcheshire. Lots of garlic. Some of our homemade salsa. Cooked them longer than suggested. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scotdog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mexican Rice III

Watch how to make this top-rated Mexican rice dish.

Refried Beans without the Refry

See how easy (and delicious) it is to make refried beans in your slow cooker!

Javi’s Really Real Mexican Ceviche

See how to make spicy, citrusy shrimp and scallop ceviche, Mexican-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States