Mexican Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2004
These were very good and easy..I cut the recipe in half since it was serving for 24..made plenty for 8-12 people. Also I soaked dry beans overnight and then cooked in crockpot with all ingredients all the next day adding a teaspoon and 1/2 of cumin which I think gave it more flavor..seemed a bit bland without...they were great..a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
94 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2005
very tasty and thankyou for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbia, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Plainfield, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2006
I loved these beans but my husband hated them due to the cilantro! Followed recipe exactly except used a serrano pepper with seeds and membranes instead of jalapeno because I had one that needed to be used. Just a little bit of subtle warmth. Will probably make again without the cilantro.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2006
I followed the recipe exactly, but didn't taste it much as it was way too spicy for me. Husband gave this 3 stars and said it didn't really taste Mexican, and that it would have been better without bacon, perhaps with some lime juice (which I didn't have, unfortunately). Thanks anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2006
My husband called these beans "southwest" style, rather than Mexican, but he loved them. He did suggest using a smoked hamhock rather than bacon. Very tasty without being too spicy for "northerners".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2006
Okay not great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2006
I love refried beans but these didn't turn out very well. Not creamy enough, kind of gritty. And very "beany" tasting. Like pinto bean soup tastes instead of like refried beans taste. Don't know what it would need to change that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chellebelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2007
Was really hungry for a warm pot of beans and this did it! Had no fresh tomato so put in a can of diced with green chilie. Also soften up a couple of cloves of minced garlic with the onion, jalapeno and bacon. These were seasoned just right!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetBasil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Liberty Hill, Texas, USA
Photo by Scotdog
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2007
We have eaten these for about a week now. Delish! They go with so many meals. Even had them at brunch with egg tacos. Used a little bit of worcheshire. Lots of garlic. Some of our homemade salsa. Cooked them longer than suggested. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scotdog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2008
The recipe serves up a very tasty bowl of beans! I grew up on these types of beans and this recipe rates up there in the "Like Mama used to make". It is easy to follow with simple steps. The servings are hearty and can serve as a meal all on its own. Anyone interested can mix the leftover beans with chorizo sausage on tortillas and make another great meal
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mexican Rice III

Watch how to make this top-rated Mexican rice dish.

Mexican Rice II

See how to make easy, tasty Mexican rice.

Javi’s Really Real Mexican Ceviche

See how to make spicy, citrusy shrimp and scallop ceviche, Mexican-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States