Mexican Bean Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2003
This recipe is wonderful! I have even non-vegetarians eating and requesting this one! Very filling and pretty easy to make a well. I make this a lot. Thank you so much for sharing the recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2003
The soup was really muddy and the black beans ran so all the beans looked really dirty. I made alot because I thought that it would be good and boy did I regret that. Might have been better if I had drained off the water that I boiled the beans in. The flavor was much too beany. I won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2003
I personally liked this stew and would make it again. needed to add a lot of water while cooking so as to keep it moist and stew like. served over brown rice for a healthy dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodbury, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Groton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2004
Three stars is stellar praise from me considering I'm not a fan of beans. I didn't like the beans by themselves, so I served them with Mexican rice, lettuce, sour cream, and tortillas and made wraps, which were tasty. The touch of cinnamon adds a nice unexpected flavor to this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Katy, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2004
My wife and brother loved this recipe. The cinnamon and cumin really make a nice flavor. I added about 4 cups of water and 4 teaspoons of vegetarian bullion and let it sit in the slo cooker most of the day on low. It made the dish a soup. The flavors blended nicely. I also used canned black beans and garbanzos rinsed and drained. I used 1 can whole corn with liquid instead of frozen. We served with shredded cheddar. Very Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2005
good, filling everyone liked it. Servings are very large
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Unknown, California, USA
Living In: Unknown, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2005
I loved this recipe. I'm embarassed to admit, I went back for several helpings after dinner. Using canned beans made for really speedy prep. The end result was fantastic. I had never had garbanzo's before and they were one of the ingredients I enjoyed most. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2005
To me, a four rating means that I would be really excited about preparing this dish again. Thus, I'm giving this recipe a three rating. Yes, I enjoyed it. The somewhat exotic taste of the cumin and cinnamon are surprising. Still, it wasn't as tasty as I expected. Maybe next time I'll try this on pasta rather than alone as a side dish. I added another can of tomatoes because the first can left the dish too dry. I will probably make this again someday but what I have will last awhile; the recipe provides a lot of servings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CURTISLEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valley, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2005
Very bland. I used a little more cumin, onion, garlic then the recipe called for, and I also added hamburger to it. And it just didn't have much flavor. I probaby won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2005
This recipe did not have as much flavor as I had hoped, but still had a good taste. The servings are large and it is filling. I think next time I make it, I will prepare the garbanzo beans seperate becuase the black beans dye them an unappetizing shade of purple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Mexican Bean Salad

A perfect potluck partner. Three beans, corn, peppers, and plenty of kick.

Greek Garbanzo Bean Salad

A quick-and-easy Greek salad with garbanzo beans and a zesty dressing.

Heather's Cilantro, Black Bean, and Corn Salsa

A lively corn, avocado, and bean relish great with chips or as a side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States