Mexican Bean Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2007
I've pulled a couple dozen recipes from this site and I've never been impressed enough to write but this is a fabulous and easy recipe to throw together. It's hard to believe how good it is for you. I must admit I am on a salt free diet so I used a salt free seasoning I found at Costco. For convenience I just threw in canned beans for all three types. Because it sounded like there should be some liquid after boiling the beans, though not specifically stated, I drained them into a measuring cup and 'replaced' the 1 1/2 cups of juice with a salt-free chicken broth. Everyone at work loved it with our BBQ over the usual beans that appear.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jack
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2007
Wonderful, easy, and cheap recipe! I added more cayenne and cinnamon and added raisens for more flavor. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2006
Great recipe...I really enjoyed it! My comments are on the technique...soak the beans separately to avoid discoloring. Also, when you bring them to a boil, lower the heat and partially cover the pot. A mexican olla traditionally used to cook beans has holes in the cover to let steam escape.They should be cooked at a simmer,not a full boil. If you need to add water, add hot water from a kettle or tea kettle on the stove top. Never add cold water..it lowers the temp too much! Finally, when you cook the onions, add the garllic only after the onion has turned translucent... browning the garlic will make it bitter! This is a great dish for all of us bean lovers. I've made it as directed and also have added cooked and crumbled chorizo... great both ways! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen H

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2006
Good and easy. I drined my beans (yes, homecooked) and used 1.5 cups of chicken broth for the liquid. Different flavor, very tasty, nice change. Will surely make again - though not as regularly as some others.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Dixon, California, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2006
This is a great dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2005
This recipe did not have as much flavor as I had hoped, but still had a good taste. The servings are large and it is filling. I think next time I make it, I will prepare the garbanzo beans seperate becuase the black beans dye them an unappetizing shade of purple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2005
Very bland. I used a little more cumin, onion, garlic then the recipe called for, and I also added hamburger to it. And it just didn't have much flavor. I probaby won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2005
To me, a four rating means that I would be really excited about preparing this dish again. Thus, I'm giving this recipe a three rating. Yes, I enjoyed it. The somewhat exotic taste of the cumin and cinnamon are surprising. Still, it wasn't as tasty as I expected. Maybe next time I'll try this on pasta rather than alone as a side dish. I added another can of tomatoes because the first can left the dish too dry. I will probably make this again someday but what I have will last awhile; the recipe provides a lot of servings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CURTISLEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valley, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2005
I loved this recipe. I'm embarassed to admit, I went back for several helpings after dinner. Using canned beans made for really speedy prep. The end result was fantastic. I had never had garbanzo's before and they were one of the ingredients I enjoyed most. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2005
good, filling everyone liked it. Servings are very large
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Unknown, California, USA
Living In: Unknown, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Mexican Bean Salad

A perfect potluck partner. Three beans, corn, peppers, and plenty of kick.

Greek Garbanzo Bean Salad

A quick-and-easy Greek salad with garbanzo beans and a zesty dressing.

Heather's Cilantro, Black Bean, and Corn Salsa

A lively corn, avocado, and bean relish great with chips or as a side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States