Mexican Bean Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2010
Unless you plan to feed the whole Mexican Army, use only half the amount of beans, double the tomatoes, double the onion, and add your favorite spices. Next time after triple soaking the beans (always soak your beans three times), I will use my pressure cooker. The corn should be added at the last moment, just to heat through. This recipe is an inexpensive way to feed your family wholesome food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Gitano
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2010
who would have though all those beans together could make such harmonious music! mind you, I did use navy beans in place of garbanzos as I had soaked navy/pinto and black beans the night before I found this recipe. 2 other changes, used one can of Rotel (amazing stuff!) and one packet of Goya Sazon! PERFECT amount of heat! I also threw in some yellow bell pepper that I had to use up. For those that are indecisive on the cinnamon - OMG! you HAVE to make sure you add it in! This IMO makes this dish amazing! As another reviewer stated, it brings a whole other dimension of flavour! So....what are you waiting for? Get out the stock pot and make a batch TODAY! ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gitano

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2009
This receipe was good, but it need some kick!! I added some chilies to and some more tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2009
three stars because i didnt follow the recipe exactly. basically i was tired and didnt feel like making a huge mess in the kitchen. i used canned beans rinsed well, a can of hominy instead of regular corn, mexican style stewed tomatoes, chicken broth, chili powder (i did use a tiny bit of cinnamon and the cumin), preminced garlic and a ton of minced onion and onion powder. also after simmering for 20+ mins i added a tblspn corn starch in a small amount of water and let it simmer for another 10 mins. before spooning into bowls i crunched up corn tostada shells (i was out of chips) then put in the soup, and put shredded cheese on top. i didnt care for the garbanzo beans but that was because they hadnt soaked up the flavors yet. it was a good basic for a recipe that was quick and filling and somewhat healthy. i will definately make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vacaville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2008
We found this recipe while on a Daniel Fast, and had it the last day of the fast and it was SO GOOD that we added it to our regular meals list. We love the flavor the cinnamon an cumin added. Great with cornbread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Broken Arrow, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2008
Very nice. I made this while a hurricane was knocking on our door. Cheated by substituting two 15oz cans of black beans and 1 can of Garbanzo, and adding 1.5 cups of chicken broth. Didn't have corn on hand so skipped it. The cinnamon added a lovely layer of flavor. The cayenne added an essential edge. A dollop of sour cream might have been nice, but did I mention the hurricane....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Juneau, Alaska, USA
Living In: Winter Park, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ita
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2008
Overall, this is a good base recipe but I added a few more items (celery, carrots, onion and brown rice) to make it as filling as possible. I also added a carton of cherry tomatoes alongside the tinned tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ita

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Belfast, County Antrim, Northern Ireland, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2008
I omitted the garbanzos as I really dislike the texture, plus I didn't want to open three cans of beans for just two people. This was a good meal. Very easy and filling. I sprinkled fresh cilantro on top. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2007
I wanted something with more flavor. Rather boring. You have to really like beans to eat this. It makes A LOT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Osakis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Bloomington, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2007
This had a great flavor to it. I used 1 15 oz can of black beans and 1 15 oz can of garbanzo beans and left the pinto beans out. I also doubled the crushed tomatoes and added a cup of water (even with this it was not too soupy).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mexican Bean Salad

A perfect potluck partner. Three beans, corn, peppers, and plenty of kick.

Vegetarian Tortilla Stew

Pinto beans and enchilada sauce star in this simple, meatless tortilla stew.

Greek Garbanzo Bean Salad

A quick-and-easy Greek salad with garbanzo beans and a zesty dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States