Mexican Bean Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2014
I altered this recipe a bit, to make it a bit easier. i've never been able to correctly cook dried beans, so i used canned. i also used canned tomatoes with green chilies to give it a bit more of a mexican flair. i also didn't keep this vegetarian, and if you're looking to add a meat, i would suggest chorizo. if you can only find it in the liquid-y form, i would suggest cutting it into some ground beef before adding it in. This did very well in the slow cooker, it'd be very easy to set this up before going to work; leaving you free to come home to a nice hot meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2013
Very, very bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
Really awesome soup. Reduced the cumin a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by meighan_d

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
I used canned beans for convenience and added a few chopped chicken breasts to "meal" it up a bit. I threw everything in the slow cooker at lunch and it was more than perfect at dinner. Great aroma! Excellent taste! A friend called it one of the best stews he has had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2011
Hubby and I were expecting just another "chili style" dish... however this one had something special. It will be served again, the todlers even enjoyed it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2011
A good bean stew. This is very easily adapted for a low-sodium diet simply by leaving out salt. I added cilantro and green chilies. I know other reviewers loved the cinnamon, but I didn't care for it so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2011
Pretty tasty. We had dried pinto beans so I cooked a cup of them for 2 min at a boil, then let them soak for an hour. Then I tossed the pinto beans and cans of black and garbanzo beans in the slow cooker with the corn and a can of Rotel spicy tomatoes. I cooked the onion and garlic in a frying pan and tossed them in later. I did use the cumin, cayenne and the cinnamon (yum!). It was good after letting all those flavors slow cook for several hours. We ate it with the sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2011
Thought this was really good especially the cumin cinnamon mix! I omitted the cayenne pepper because I added a red pepper and half a chili pepper. I sauted the onion garlic peppers and a carrot together. I also didn't use garbanzo beans because I didn't have any. Next time, perhaps I will try it with the cayenne pepper, but I quite liked it my way. I will make this again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2010
I think this recipe has potential but we didn't care for it as is. I would cut the cinnamon down or out if I were to make this again. The smell and taste of the cinnamon was overpowering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: New Berlin, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2010
This is sooooo good! I had to make a few substitutions because I didn't have all of the ingredients handy, but I'm looking forward to trying it again with the proper ingredients. Cinnamon was a nice touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mexican Bean Salad

A perfect potluck partner. Three beans, corn, peppers, and plenty of kick.

Vegetarian Tortilla Stew

Pinto beans and enchilada sauce star in this simple, meatless tortilla stew.

Greek Garbanzo Bean Salad

A quick-and-easy Greek salad with garbanzo beans and a zesty dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States