Mexican Bean Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2015
I didn't use lemon juice instead I added more like. Still excellent. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Middle Village, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2015
Really love this salad, but only gave it 4 stars because I had to tweak it to make it perfect. I cut the oil and vinegar in half (1/4 c each) and I will go even less next time. Also, I use only one red pepper and about 1/4 c of onion. I use a mandolin to get these finely sliced. The red pepper I then chop up. The onion I prefer to leave as long slices so they can be pulled out (who wants raw onion breath?) Since I had too much dressing, I added a can of black-eyed peas. This made a good mix, and even more salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2015
Great recipe. I added a chopped jalapeño for extra heat but otherwise followed the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2015
This is the perfect bean salad recipe--packed with flavor and easy to make. I always follow the recipe exactly as written. It is now my go-to recipe for potlucks and church luncheons. We have eaten it as a salad and also as a bean dip with Dorito or Frito scoops. Even though the recipe calls for a dash of hot pepper sauce and chili--the amounts are so small compared to the amount of beans, peppers and onions, that these spices don't add any heat--just flavor. I would suggest when buying the kidney beans, to purchase the dark red beans (they taste the same as the paler variety) since they add a wonderful color to the salad. The salad only improves after a few days in the fridge so leftovers are always tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by agoodman5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gladstone, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2015
I've made this several times and I love it. Definitely agree with others regarding cutting back on the dressing. As written, it's way too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2015
So easy and everyone loved it-kinda like cowboy caviar..where you eat it on tortilla chips-I would make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2015
Best recipe of the party! Most everyone took a copy of the recipe home because there wasn't a lot of salad leftovers! Making it again this weekend for a BBQ. I followed exactly as written. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2015
Very good! Next time I will use less oil. I also used balsamic vinegar instead of red wine vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2015
I substituted Mirin for the red wine vinegar, used half of the oil, vinegar and suger called for and less than half of the salt. It's even better the second day! Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2015
This is fantastic. I did halve the vinegar because I prefer a milder amount, but other than that I made it as written. What a great salad, and it's delicious the next day, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,277) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mexican Bean Salad

A perfect potluck partner. Three beans, corn, peppers, and plenty of kick.

Black Bean and Corn Salad II

See how to make a fresh, colorful Mexican-inspired salad and side dish.

Three Bean Salad

A mayo-free salad perfect for large family gatherings and picnics.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States