Mexican Bean Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2002
Very colorful, pretty salad! I used a 15-oz. can of corn (drained) instead of frozen (time saver). I decreased the olive oil and red wine vinegar to 1/4 cup each. I would also suggest decreasing the salt to 3/4 Tbl and decreasing the pepper a bit. The second time I made this, I decreased the olive oil and vinegar to 1/8 each - would do that again (just make sure to decrease all the spices some as well). Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
148 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2001
This is DEFINITELY the best bean salad I have ever tasted. My Mom-in-law even loved it and she doesn't like beans! I have made it several times, and I always have an empty bowl by the end of the evening. One night I threw in some chopped leftover grilled chicken and had a marvelous meal. MMM Good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ontario, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2000
This has quickly become a favorite. I have made it three times, and I receive numerous requests for the recipe. It is great at potlucks and with barbecue. Not only does it contain the perfect combination of flavors, but it is attractive with all its colors, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2000
I have taken this recipe to three cookouts and am always asked for the recipe. A lot of chopping, but worth the effort!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2000
This salad is full of flavor, very colorful and is a wonderful alternative to the traditional salads you find at Bar-B-Qs. This recipe makes a generous amount making it a good dish for large crowds. I made it for a cookout and everyone really liked it. I'll definitely make this dish again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2001
This was a big hit at our family 4th of July picnic. Everyone wants this recipe. And it was so easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2001
This dish is delicious! It takes some time to chop everything needed, but it was fun and the results were worth it. It's a colorful dish that was a big hit at yesterday's 4th of July BBQ. I packed the leftovers and added some chicken and I can't wait to eat it for lunch. I even used the olive oil dressing as a marinade. Wonderful dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2001
Let it sit in the refer and blend for at least an hour. It was the hit of the 4th of July party - even for those people that normally aren't too wild about bean salads!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2001
This is a very good bean salad. I will definitely make it again. I added a can of garbonzo beans and a 2nd can of kidney beans. It may be a little spicey for small children but certainly a hit with everyone else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2002
I made this for a holiday buffet. I loved it...just the right touch of spice. A terrific make-ahead dish. Our teenage grandchild wanted to take the leftovers home! By the way, it is a very colorful dish. Thanks, Karen. Nancy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,203) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mexican Bean Salad

A perfect potluck partner. Three beans, corn, peppers, and plenty of kick.

Black Bean and Corn Salad II

See how to make a fresh, colorful Mexican-inspired salad and side dish.

Greek Garbanzo Bean Salad

A quick-and-easy Greek salad with garbanzo beans and a zesty dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States