Mexican Bean Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2004
I followed this recipe almost exactly (something new for me) and it was ... wow ... incredible. I served it at a party, and got rave reviews -- two people even asked for the recipe! Based on the feedback of others, I started out with only 1 tbl of sugar, then added more to taste. The end result was probably close to 2 tbl. I also added a bit of lemon and lime zest to the dressing. Warning: I think this recipe ends up closer to 10 servings. I had to make it in my huge wooden salad bowl, because even my largest mixing bowl wasn't adequate. By the way, this is even better after a few days, when the flavors have time to fully meld. I usually make this at least two days ahead of time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
679 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2005
The best bean salad I have made. I halved the oil, vinegar and sugar. Thank goodness I read the post. This amount suited the recipe just fine. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
445 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lakewood, Washington, USA
Living In: Fircrest, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2007
I made this for a Mexican Pot Luck at my husband's office. Even though 40 people brought dishes, this was one of the few that was entirely devoured! This is a wonderful, tasty, and colorful salad. Very attractive served in a trifle bowl, or any clear glass bowl. I wouldn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
372 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2004
So delicious. I have made this salad over and over again with awesome results each time. I usually cut the sugar in half. I like to add powdered garlic, and extra cilantro. I use Great White Northern beans instead of Cannelini. Red onions add a pretty color. We make this all the time! I am confused by the raters that say there is too much dressing... I think the amount is right on. Although I do use a can of corn instead of frozen... maybe the extra liquid comes from the frozen corn. Sometimes I add a can of chopped tomatoes. You can add any veggies you like, the salad doesn't care. I would give this more stars if I could.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
167 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLE888

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2002
Very colorful, pretty salad! I used a 15-oz. can of corn (drained) instead of frozen (time saver). I decreased the olive oil and red wine vinegar to 1/4 cup each. I would also suggest decreasing the salt to 3/4 Tbl and decreasing the pepper a bit. The second time I made this, I decreased the olive oil and vinegar to 1/8 each - would do that again (just make sure to decrease all the spices some as well). Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
149 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2003
This was excellent! However, two peppers is entirely "two" much...one is more than plenty. And be sure to use fresh or frozen corn, not canned. Canned corn has no texture and does nothing for the salad. I subbed balsamic vinegar for the red wine vinegar...very good. Way more than enough dressing...cut it down to 1/4 cup oil and 1/4 cup vinegar, but keep the rest of the ingredients as stated for marvelous flavor. Add some minced jalapenos for spice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
135 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Blythewood, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Apex, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2005
Very yummy! I made it just as written except left out the hot pepper sauce. Served over a bed of Romaine with the option of crushed tortilla chips and sour cream on top. Everyone at the party loved it, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
82 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Layton, Utah, USA
Living In: North Salt Lake, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2007
A LOT of ingredients! I took this to work today for a potluck and it seemed to go over very well. I didn't have cannelli beans, but used another white bean and I didn't have fresh lemon or lime juice so used bottled juice. Otherwise, I didn't change a thing. I will make this again. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eureka, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2003
This salad is excellent! My family always has seconds and thirds when I make this. It is also very pretty and would make a great dish to bring to a party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2003
If you like this recipe, you'll love the Spicy Bean Salsa on this site...it's to die for!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,218) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mexican Bean Salad

A perfect potluck partner. Three beans, corn, peppers, and plenty of kick.

Black Bean and Corn Salad II

See how to make a fresh, colorful Mexican-inspired salad and side dish.

Greek Garbanzo Bean Salad

A quick-and-easy Greek salad with garbanzo beans and a zesty dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States