Mexican Bean Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2014
I followed the recipe to a tea as well and yum! I have never been a fan of bean salad until now! I made it last week and I am making it again tomorrow! It makes a lot and it is so fresh and flavorful. I rarely give 5 stars to a recipe but this one deserves it! I did have some vinegar / oil at the bottom of the bowl so I will try making it with 1/2 the amount tomorrow to see what I like more. I'm thinking by making it with the full amount it may marinate everything better so i am a bit hesitant on only using half. I will repost once I see how it goes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2014
Since I cook only for myself, I cut this recipe in half. Used a can of black beans and one of cannellini. Added 1/2 cup red pepper and 1/2 cup yellow since I had no green, but the green would have been prettier. And instead of red onion, I threw in 1/2 cup white. After tasting a few hours later, I added a bit more salt and lime juice. I really, really like this and have had it, along with homemade tortilla chips, several times for my meatless Monday meals. And can't wait to make it for company soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2014
Tasted even better the next day, despite skipping the lemon and lime juice (did not have on hand) . The Mexican flavors gave it more interest than similar recipes I have tried .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by clubby981

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Allen Park, Michigan, USA
Living In: West Bloomfield, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2014
Wonderful salad. Just wonderful. Very tasty although I did cut back on the sugar/Splenda. The first time I made it I used the hot pepper sauce (Sriracha). I skipped it the second time and could not really tell a difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2014
not to much vinegar
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
truly beautiful AND yummy. Sometimes I don't digest beans well, but this was totally worth it. I know they're very good for me, and this was a super tasty way to get lots of great fiber.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
Will make this again without so much oil and vinegar. Used Southwest canned corn, good in the recipe. Added lots more chili powder, though. Left out the sugar due to being a diabetic. Son loved it, said it was so colorful and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2014
WOW!!! Made this to go with homemade empanadas for dinner last night only 2 hours before serving. It tasted great before I stuck it in the freezer. (Speed chill ya know.) Stirred every 1/2 hour. My DH never gives anything a 5 star rating but, he did for this....and my original empanadas. It is even better today! Decided to have tacos to carry on the Mexican theme tonight to go with the leftover salad. The recipe makes a ton but, you will be glad it does! :) Thanks, Karen, for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by terriyaki

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marysville, Washington, USA
Living In: Shoreline, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2014
This was good. It had a bit too much dressing so I would suggest to pour some out before serving and use a slotted serving spoon. I agree that it is best when made a day or two in advance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2014
Made this for a summer lunch, as we wanted something light and this was a winner. Tasted yummy, i will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Neela Mistry

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,179) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mexican Bean Salad

A perfect potluck partner. Three beans, corn, peppers, and plenty of kick.

Black Bean and Corn Salad II

See how to make a fresh, colorful Mexican-inspired salad and side dish.

Greek Garbanzo Bean Salad

A quick-and-easy Greek salad with garbanzo beans and a zesty dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States