Mexican Bean Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2013
MY FAMILY LOVED THIS , MADE MY OWN LITTLE TWERKS BUT OVER ALL A GREAT RESIPE!!!! I WILL BE MAKING THIS AGIN!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2013
My family went nuts over this dish! It was great the first night, and leftovers were even better the next day. I only made a couple of changes: after reading that someone else thought it was too dry, I drained both cans of beans and reserved the liquid. Then, when I out it in the oven, I poured some of the bean juice over the top, just before adding the last layer of cheese. Came out deliciously gooey on the bottom. I also used 2 large jalapenos instead of 1 jalapeno and one green pepper. I seeded one and left the seeds in the other. Gave it a very subtle kick, but noticeable. We served it as recommended with fresh salsa and sour cream, and also used sliced avocado as a topping. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lclaurie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cornish, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: King George, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2012
This bean pie is off the charts. Get it? Pie charts?!?!?!! The end result of this recipe is better than pi. It's super delicious and packed with protein. We loaded ours with salsa, sour cream, and guacamole on top and the leftovers were quickly consumed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kayt Krepcho

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Homestead, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
Yum! This was the break from tacos that we needed. We added a layer of salsa on top for moisture, and that worked really well. A little sour cream and fresh cilantro on top pulls the dish together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2012
Very yummy!!! I found nothing to complain about at all. It was easy to prepare and tasty to eat. It suited our quasi-vegeterian lifestyle very well. (Quasi-vegeterian? I know, it's odd!) I cook ours in my very well seasoned 10-12" cast iron skillets. Nothing sticks, they're perfect size and depth (depending on the tortilla size I get), and clean-up is always a snap! I never go wrong with cast-iron cooking. But the recipe - We're not spicy people so we left out the jalapeños, but other than that we keep to the recipe and enjoy it with a salad, sometimes some rice, and our drink of choice. Give it a shot and tweak it your way - you'll probably enjoy it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2012
This recipe is superb! I doubled the number of beans and used white flour tortillas instead of the whole wheat. However, it can be a little dry. But the sour cream takes care of the dryness. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2012
Based on reviews saying this was good with modifications (said it was too dry and bland as written), I made some changes the first time and LOVED IT! Thanks Adele21 for a great veggie recipe! My changes: added one entire jar of medium/hot salsa, garlic powder (would use cloves, but was out), a pinch of salt, whole jalapeño and some of the seeds to the ingredients in the saucepan. Onion would be good to add too. I used a whole can of white shoepeg corn (I prefer more + sweet corn) and vegetarian refried beans. I baked it in a 9 x 13 glass baking dish instead, which made 8 generous servings. I used 8 (10 inch) tortillas, so this made for 3 layers of filling with the last layer tortillas. When laying them out, I tore the center edges a bit to create less overlap in the middle. I let the ends curl up sides of pan, which helped it keep shape later. I used a little over a bag of shredded Mexican cheese mix to make this bigger size. I did the 10 minutes in a big wok style pan, and I think this helps the green pepper cook a little. I also baked for 25-30 minutes. This had great flavor on its own or with some added sour cream garnish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2012
Fast and DELICIOUS! I made it with wheat tortillas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
I customized this a bit, which made it less dry and more flavorful. I added chopped onion and minced garlic, and I didn't cook anything before layering the dish. I also added chopped tomato for more moisture, and it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
A promising dish but a tad bland as written. We will try this again but using a sauté of onion, bell pepper, garlic, fresh cilantro, and upping the spices, before mixing in the beans. Rather than add salsa as a garnish, plan to layer in picante sauce to make this less dry. The pie did not come out piping hot with 20 minutes in the oven, and plan on leaving it in longer the next time. With some minor tweaking to satisfy our personal tastes, expect this bean pie to make it on our ‘make again’ (5 star) list. Thank you ADELE21 for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ConkyJoe

Displaying results 1-10 (of 149) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mexican Bean Salad

A perfect potluck partner. Three beans, corn, peppers, and plenty of kick.

Delicious Black Bean Burritos

Black beans, cream cheese, & green chiles give basic burrito’s a tasty makeover.

Vegan Bean Taco Filling

See how to make a hearty, spicy bean filling for tacos and burritos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States