Mexican Bean Burgers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2006
I changed the recipe around and it turned out fabulous! I did not use carrot. I rinsed and drained the black beans (instead of kidney beans) and fried them with the onion, green pepper, lots of cumin and chili pepper, and garlic. Then I combined the bean mixture with the flour, about 1/4 cup of sala, more chili pepper, 1/4 cup of cilantro (this really made it), and 1/2 a cup of rolled oats instead of breadcrumbs (so much healthier!). They formed perfectly into burgers and I coated them with hot sauces and I baked them for 15 minutes. Delicious! Edit: I made this again the same as above, but this time I combined oats AND cooked brown rice until the consistency was right. I think it was even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
89 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2003
I've never made my own veggie burgers myself and was scared to try, but this was quick and easy. However, I kind of figured 2 cups of salsa would be way too much, so I used only 1 and it was exactly right. I also used black beans because we love them, a red bell pepper instead of green, and took another reviewers suggestion to cook the chopped onions and peppers first so they wouldn't be crunchy. I got eight nice patties out of this and fried them. Served them on buns with a little sour cream and shredded cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Juneau, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2005
These are awesome! I used to get a delicious black bean burger at a restaurant in OKC and have been looking for an equivalent/replacement here at home. Finally found it! (Happy dance!) I did make a few modifications - based on others recommendations and my personal taste. First - I used black beans (which I drained and rinsed really well.) Then I chopped the carrots and sauteed them w/ the chopped onions, garlic and some cumin - and I replaced the bell pepper w/ chopped green chili. And threw in a few squirts of Tabasco Chipotle sauce. I also suggest starting w/ 1/2 cup of salsa at the end and building from there to the right consistency. Sear the burgers and then drop the temp in the pan and cook slowly to cook all the way through. The flavor is fantastic and my husband and I loved it. 7 year old stepdaughter liked it "a whole lot." We followed the recommended serving suggestions and really enjoyed dinner tonight! Thanks Valerie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2004
I changed a few things in this recipe but it still came out pretty well. I sautéed the green peppers beforehand as I didn't want them to be too crunchy. I also took another reviewer's advice and coated the patties in cornmeal before frying - that was an excellent tip. The serving suggestion of lettuce, avocado and sour cream was also great. The only reason I'm giving this recipe four stars instead of five is that I found it a little bit difficult. The patties didn't hold together very well until I added some egg to the mixture. I will definitely make it again, though. Update: I am changing my rating to five stars because I have been making this recipe regularly and with a little bit of practice it is really not difficult at all. In fact, it has become a household favourite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lahore, Punjab, Pakistan
Living In: Paris, Île-De-France, France

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2002
I use less salsa and more bread crumbs for a thicker mixture so it bakes well. If you want a crispy outside flip them over half way through and turn the oven up to broil for a few minutes at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2008
I've made these a few times usually with black beans and find them overall to be better than most store bought veggie burgers. My friends and family even enjoyed them, who aren't vegetarian. The only thing was the texture wasn't as firm as I'd hoped but the flavor is great so I gave it five stars. I also recommend starting with a half a cup of salsa and adding until a stiff mixture forms, two cups is way too much. Also, I saute the veggies first with garlic, cumin and chili powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2002
These were surprisingly easy to make, and they had great flavor. I used black beans, fried half of them and baked the rest. I liked the fried better. However, next time I would lightly grill the pepper and onions so they weren't so crunchy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2000
This was such a cool idea! I would not put the carrots in next time, they didn't really add any needed flavor and I did add about 1 teaspoon of fresh garlic because garlic is a staple in my meals. I would not reccomend baking them either. As one of the other reviewers said, she fryed them in oil, and that's what I did. baking them would have been way too sloppy and the patties would not have formed correctly. I cooked them in a pan with canola oil on each side for about 3 min. Yummy!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2000
Great served on a bun spread with some ranch dressing, and topped with thinly sliced onion, lettuce and extra salsa Silverwolf
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2002
I've always wanted to make veggie burgers from scratch! And this was an easy recipe to follow. However, it did take some time getting all the ingredients and chopping them up. But that's the only thing that keeps me from making them all the time because they were so good. It was one of my husband's favorites and I know I'll be making again because he keeps asking for them. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 102) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Homemade Black Bean Veggie Burgers

These 5-star veggie burgers have it all over frozen burgers.

Mexican Bean Salad

A perfect potluck partner. Three beans, corn, peppers, and plenty of kick.

Quinoa Black Bean Burgers

See how to make delicious vegetarian black bean burgers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States