Mexican Bean Burgers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2004
A very tasty burger. I used one cup of salsa instead of two. Drained the kidney beans but I'm not sure if I was supposed to or not. I think that next time I will leave out the carrot, my husband didn't appreciate how it tasted in a burger. However, he still ate the burgers happily and I couldn't taste the carrots at all. Cooked them up on my George Foreman grill and they were delicious. This is a wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MELAYA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2003
These are so easy to make - and so delicious too! We had them in Ciabatta rolls with salad, a sprinkling of grated cheddar cheese and sliced tomatoes on top - marvellous!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2003
These burgers were great! and so easy to make--even for a "non-cook" like myself! I love veggie burgers, but most store bought burgers have lots of wheat gluten added, which I dont like. This is a great recipe and I will continue to make my own veggie burgers from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2003
mmm this recipe was very good, and easy to follow. i felt that the range of baking time given was too long, 15-17 minutes should be just right. i substituted mushroom pasta sauce for the salsa, since i was out of salsa, and it gave the patties a bit of a mushroomy tang. thumbs up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2003
These were quite easy to prepare and very tasty. next time I will decrease the salsa a bit. I did add more spices to this more chili and some cumin. Oh and I also used black beans instead of kidneys.. this was really delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2003
These were pretty good. Didn't have wheat flour so I used wheat germ instead. I also cut back on the salsa and added cayenne plus other seasonings. Nice lunch, just for me. Thanks Valerie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2003
I've never made my own veggie burgers myself and was scared to try, but this was quick and easy. However, I kind of figured 2 cups of salsa would be way too much, so I used only 1 and it was exactly right. I also used black beans because we love them, a red bell pepper instead of green, and took another reviewers suggestion to cook the chopped onions and peppers first so they wouldn't be crunchy. I got eight nice patties out of this and fried them. Served them on buns with a little sour cream and shredded cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Juneau, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2002
These were easy to make and the flavor is great. I steamed mushrooms with the carrots and left out the onion. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2002
these burgers were great! I pan fried the burgers and also used black beans. I added cumin and a pinch of Goya (All purpose seasonings blend) and about a teaspoon of shakable Chicken flavored granules because my family loves s-p-i-c-y authentic taste~ (being I am Mexican and my fiance is Dominican) thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2002
I've always wanted to make veggie burgers from scratch! And this was an easy recipe to follow. However, it did take some time getting all the ingredients and chopping them up. But that's the only thing that keeps me from making them all the time because they were so good. It was one of my husband's favorites and I know I'll be making again because he keeps asking for them. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 105) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Black Bean Veggie Burgers

These 5-star veggie burgers have it all over frozen burgers.

Mexican Bean Salad

A perfect potluck partner. Three beans, corn, peppers, and plenty of kick.

Quinoa Black Bean Burgers

See how to make delicious vegetarian black bean burgers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States