Mexican Bean Burgers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2011
This was a fantastic and easy recipe. The burger tasted great and held together so well even when I shapped them into thinner pieces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2011
I made these last night for my husband and myself. They were fantastic! (I am eating leftovers for lunch right now... :) I did sautee the pepper and onion first and only used one cup of salsa as other reviews suggested (and I'm glad I did) When I first started it seemed like one can of beans wouldnt be enough, but the bread crumbs really bulked it up. I only wish the consistancy was just a bit more stiff... it holds together fine, but its a bit mushy when you bite into it (maybe I should have cooked longer?) Next time I will add some egg whites in hopes of having a firmer consistancy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2011
I didn't really care for these. They really wanted to fall apart on me and were difficult to keep together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2011
This was a great base idea.. like others I altered to suit my taste. I LOVE kidney beans, so I stuck with that - lightly cooked the peppers and onion - and went ahead and added some cumin and chili powder. I also used oat flour and fresh whole wheat bread crumbs as a binder. 1/4 cup of salsa was all that was needed for me. Mixed it all with my hands, pan fried, and loved every last bite! Great left-overs.. mine ended up being 5 pretty large patties to fit our buns. Thanks for the idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Virginia, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2011
Absolutely fabulous!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2011
Thought this was a fantastic burger! We added a handful of Parmesan and it really took the burgers to another level!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by yummycreampuff

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
Not a big bean burger fan and this definitely didn't change my opinion
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RockyTrax

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Yankton, South Dakota, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
I actually had trouble keeping these in a burger form, so I just fried them up into long, narrow pieces and used them in burritos. Great flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA
Living In: Bamberg, Bayern, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
I used oats instead of wheat flour and a bit of cumin. Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nikole

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2011
This is tasty, but some alterations need to be made. Cut way down on the salsa (I used 1 cup) and you'll get a better consistency. Add some cumin (I used 1 tsp.) and some cayenne pepper (1/2 tsp to start). I also added about 1 1/2 tsp. of garlic. With these changes, the burgers turn out great. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: College Park, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 102) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Homemade Black Bean Veggie Burgers

These 5-star veggie burgers have it all over frozen burgers.

Mexican Bean Salad

A perfect potluck partner. Three beans, corn, peppers, and plenty of kick.

Quinoa Black Bean Burgers

See how to make delicious vegetarian black bean burgers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States