Mexican Bean Burgers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2004
These were not bad. I do think I made the burgers too thick - they stuck to the pan before they were done in the middle. Next time I will add something spicy like jalapenos to the mix, and I will make very thin burgers so that it is easier to cook them completely. This is a great recipe - I think with some practice on my part and a little spice it could easily be 4 or 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2004
I enjoyed the taste but they were very moist. They stuck to the fry pan when I tried to cook them that way and to the baking pan, I had even used non-stick cooking spray. I baked them longer than indicated and topped them with monterey jack cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2004
This is the first time I made any thing like this. It taste so wonderful it's to the ponit that my whole family is trying to be a vegetarian like me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2004
This got mixed reviews from my family. The flavor was good (served it with Lite Brocamole from this website) but it is not something I'll make on a weeknight again...took too much time to prepare. Also, like other reviewers, I cut the amount of salsa in half & drained the beans very well, but the mixture was still way too wet. Ended up having to add more bread crumbs than tastes good. Advice: add the salsa a little bit at a time after all other ingredients are combined. That way you won't end up with bread crumb burgers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2004
Good. I used black beans and a little less salsa as previously recommended. They were good and my husband liked them as well. They turned out much better than other veggie hamburger recipes that I have tried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2004
I changed a few things in this recipe but it still came out pretty well. I sautéed the green peppers beforehand as I didn't want them to be too crunchy. I also took another reviewer's advice and coated the patties in cornmeal before frying - that was an excellent tip. The serving suggestion of lettuce, avocado and sour cream was also great. The only reason I'm giving this recipe four stars instead of five is that I found it a little bit difficult. The patties didn't hold together very well until I added some egg to the mixture. I will definitely make it again, though. Update: I am changing my rating to five stars because I have been making this recipe regularly and with a little bit of practice it is really not difficult at all. In fact, it has become a household favourite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lahore, Punjab, Pakistan
Living In: Paris, Île-De-France, France

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2004
Great recipe. I wasn't interested in making it taste "Mexican" so I used dill, garlic, paprika, and lots of pepper to make it taste like the beef burgers I used to eat. Turned out wonderful. The suggestion of the cornmeal was also excellent. Such an easy and flexible recipe, I'll continue to use this instead of the store-bought variety.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2004
These are really good. I cooked my own black beans, didn't add the peppers or carrot and also cut the salsa to 1 cup. I used a potato masher to smooch them up and coated them in cornmeal before baking for a little crunch. They wanted to fall apart before I baked them but after they were baked they held up very nice. Tasted better than the veggie burgers you get at the store!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Albany, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2004
Very easy recipe. This was delicious with guacamole, fresh tomato and sour cream on a whole wheat bun. They were gobbled up very fast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LauraKKH

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: White Stone, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2004
Fabulous recipe! Now, I use it as a base and add different veggies like corn for a Southwest twist. Also, I freeze them in individual patties for later use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 105) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Black Bean Veggie Burgers

These 5-star veggie burgers have it all over frozen burgers.

Mexican Bean Salad

A perfect potluck partner. Three beans, corn, peppers, and plenty of kick.

Quinoa Black Bean Burgers

See how to make delicious vegetarian black bean burgers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States