Mexican Bean Burgers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2006
Delicious, the recipe is fab! It's very easy to prepare. We all thouroughly enjoyed the burgers. I have plenty left over and have frozen them for later use! Much cheaper and has more flavour than the commercially avaliable veggie burgers. I think next time I will add more chilli powder as it wasn't spicey enough for our tastes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2006
This turned out great! Used grated carrot instead of cooking it and less salsa than the recipe called for. And LOTS of chilli powder and pepper because I like mine spicy. Only managed to get 4 burgers out of the recipe though...maybe mine were larger. :) Will definitely make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2006
I had cooked quinoa so I used that (1/2 cup) instead of breadcrumbs. Used black beans instead of kidney beans because I had them made. Skipped the carrot but added garlic. Cut the salsa down to 1/4 cup. Served it on a sprouted bun. Came out so good, I had to heat up extra buns. This could become a regular. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2006
No doubt this is an excellent recipe. I didn't know bean burgers can be so tasty. According to suggestions, I also added the corn. Used ranch dressing instead of sour cream and didn't care for the avacado. Baked them and then heated them on the pan with sharp cheddar cheese. I have also frozen these after baking. Now I have them ready whenever I want. Thanks a lot for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2006
I changed the recipe around and it turned out fabulous! I did not use carrot. I rinsed and drained the black beans (instead of kidney beans) and fried them with the onion, green pepper, lots of cumin and chili pepper, and garlic. Then I combined the bean mixture with the flour, about 1/4 cup of sala, more chili pepper, 1/4 cup of cilantro (this really made it), and 1/2 a cup of rolled oats instead of breadcrumbs (so much healthier!). They formed perfectly into burgers and I coated them with hot sauces and I baked them for 15 minutes. Delicious! Edit: I made this again the same as above, but this time I combined oats AND cooked brown rice until the consistency was right. I think it was even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
94 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2006
These were pretty tasty and seem to be easily ajusted to suit you own tastes. I do think 2 cups of salsa was a bit much. They were very mushy and somewhat difficult to work with. Frying worked fine but they stuck to my George Foreman grill. I will use this as a base recipe and probably use less salsa and maybe a little more bean next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2005
Good base recipe. Great with lots of veggies on whole grain bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2005
This turned out to be very tasty. I used yellow peppers, medium salsa, and omitted the chili powder. I didn't have bread crumbs so I used the only thing I had on hand- crushed potato chips. I fried the burgers in olive oil, for about 2-3 minutes on high heat. I will try with bread crumbs next time to be more healthy. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LILRED7

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ithaca, New York, USA
Living In: Taito, Tokyo, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2005
This is a great base recipe to build on and customize to your tastes. Like others, I cooked the onions and peppers in some vegan "butter" with clove of minced garlic and about 3/4 c. frozen corn before adding it to the rest of the ingredients. I also added some cumin and a little cilantro and used a half cup less salsa than called for. It was still a little runnier than I anticipated so instead of trying to form patties, I just scooped the mixture (about 2 spoonfuls for each patty)onto a large piece of foil and then transported it to the grill. They were still a little mushy in the middle but the taste was incredible, will try using even less salsa next time and a little more chili powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2005
This was pretty good. I used the George Foreman Grill for 10 minutes each side and it turned out pretty firm and crispy on the outside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Fairview Heights, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 104) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Black Bean Veggie Burgers

These 5-star veggie burgers have it all over frozen burgers.

Mexican Bean Salad

A perfect potluck partner. Three beans, corn, peppers, and plenty of kick.

Quinoa Black Bean Burgers

See how to make delicious vegetarian black bean burgers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States