Mexican Bean Burgers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by dae14
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2009
These burgers were very good. Even though the recipe did not call for egg, my burgers stayed intact throughout the cooking process (I cooked them in a pan with only a little cooking spray). I used the salsa and flour as needed and, for both ingredients, ended up needing less than the recipe called for. We ate them open-faced with spinach, tomato, mustard and relish. Wonderful. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dae14
Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2009
I love this recipe! It is so easy and even my 3 year old could help make them. I will definitely be adding this recipe to the monthly meal plan. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Claire

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2009
Make these quite often -- even tried one crumbled on the Mexican Whole Wheat Tortilla and it was great! Definitely saute the onions and peppers first. Subbed oats for the whole wheat flour and crumbled dry toast instead of using bread crumbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2009
I think these are great. I've made them twice. The first time I cooked them in the skillet according to directions, but they turned out mushy was the only problem. Then I tried baking them according to directions and they still turned out mushy. You definitely need to flip these halfway through baking and I would recommend at least 15 minutes on each side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
We all love this recipe at our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PascoTracy

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Kingsport, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2008
I think I added too much salsa all at once as this was very wet. But that said, the taste was lovely. I will make this again, but follow the advice of a previous reviewer and add the salsa a bit at a time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Poldweia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Northolt, Greater London, England, U.K.
Living In: Colchester, Essex, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2008
We didn't like these. We ate them, but we had made LOTS b/c we do with everything and we always have leftovers for lunch. The next day at lunch the kids were acting as if it was the 'punishment of the day' to have to eat these!! We didn't like the consistency and thought they were a little bland. We'll go back to our other bean burgers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Georgia Baylor

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2008
I've made these a few times usually with black beans and find them overall to be better than most store bought veggie burgers. My friends and family even enjoyed them, who aren't vegetarian. The only thing was the texture wasn't as firm as I'd hoped but the flavor is great so I gave it five stars. I also recommend starting with a half a cup of salsa and adding until a stiff mixture forms, two cups is way too much. Also, I saute the veggies first with garlic, cumin and chili powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2007
Made with Mexican beans as I didn't have any canned kidney beans. Had a great texture. Served just as you would a hamburger & my 1 & 2 year olds ate most of it. Will be making again, experiementing other options. Has great potential.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2007
The taste was good, but the texture just isn't quite there yet. It's hard to shake the feeling that you're eating a bean sandwich. Sadly, I have yet to find a veggie burger recipe that holds together nearly as well as the packaged ones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 105) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Black Bean Veggie Burgers

These 5-star veggie burgers have it all over frozen burgers.

Mexican Bean Salad

A perfect potluck partner. Three beans, corn, peppers, and plenty of kick.

Quinoa Black Bean Burgers

See how to make delicious vegetarian black bean burgers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States