Mexican Bean Burgers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2014
Healthy and FULL of flavor! This was soooo very good. I couldn't quite get the burger to stay solid, so I made like a sloppy joe out of it. It was awesome! The hubby even liked it and he is a meat and potato kind of guy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2014
Replaced the carrot w 3/4 cooked sweet potato, cooked the onions with some garlic in butter before adding to the beans. added a little lime juice and mustard, used maybe 1/2 cup salsa and omitted flour. these are going to be regulars at our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2012
My youngest son and I loved these, but my husband couldn't get past the word 'burger'. I think that next time, I'll serve this mixture and etc. more as burritos......, then the flavor can shine and the texture not come into question just because of the name..... Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2012
I made these but added some olive oil and fresh parlesy and herbs. They were excellant-my teenage son ate 5 of them! On a wheat roll w/lettuce and tomatoe and condiments you can't tell its a veggie burger!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by butterflysky

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by unoticedshifd
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2012
These burgers came out great, but the 2nd time I changed a little bit. Instead of kidney beans I used 16 oz bush's refried beans. I didn't use chili powder or carrots. And I thought the green peppers and onions were better sauteed in olive oil. Just as a footnote, when forming the patties, wet your hands before forming them and the mixture won't stick to your hands as much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pennsauken, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2012
these are some of the best veggie burgers i have ever made. i used my hand blender on the beans and carrots and that made everything nice and sticky. i followed the recipe pretty well, but i used red pepper and i threw in some mini portobello mushrooms and i fried the onions, pepper and mushrooms before adding it to the rest of the mixture. delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENCHAO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2012
Husband LOVES these and I have to admit they are darn tasty. Heavy though and I meant weight, not feeling in the tummy. Didn't need buns and topped with guac.... yum. Despite the jarred salsa, it didn't taste salty at all, which I was afraid of.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2012
This has become my base recipe. The 2nd batch was made with Spagetti sauce instead of salsa, Italian seasonings and two major changes, black beans instead of kidney (that's what I had), and old fashioned rolled oats rather than bread crumbs. The oats give this a more "cooked hamburger" texture. The third variation on this recipe was a regular burger, replace salsa with beef broth, add garlic powder or minced garlic and a bit more oats if the mixture seems too watery. Fantastic and easy. Giving this 5 stars because of how versitile this is. Going to try making breakfast sausage with this next, it's mostly the spices that provide the taste anyway!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2012
Excellent! I used half black, half kidney beans and used a little green, yellow, red and jalapeno pepper to make up the 1/2.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2011
Fantastic! I figured veggies are all created equal, so I used what I had :-) I used black beans, celery instead of green pepper, and mushrooms. I sauteed celery, mushrooms, onion, carrot, and garlic together before mixing them with the beans. Like everyone else, I added far less salsa. I served it on a 100 calorie wheat bun with sliced tomatoes and homemade chipotle mayo. Yum!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 102) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Black Bean Veggie Burgers

These 5-star veggie burgers have it all over frozen burgers.

Mexican Bean Salad

A perfect potluck partner. Three beans, corn, peppers, and plenty of kick.

Quinoa Black Bean Burgers

See how to make delicious vegetarian black bean burgers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States