Mexican Bean and Squash Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2008
So delicious! I completely left out the chipotle peppers, and it didn't make this any less tasty. Don't leave out the lime juice because it adds a great flavor to the broth. I'm not sure if it was a mistake in the recipe, but I only used 2 cans of chicken broth (4 cups) b/c it was all I had on hand. It seemed like the right amount of liquid to me. So I'm wondering if the 2 quarts of chicken broth may have been in error? 1 quart would have been plenty. The sweetness of the squash and the texture were just so good! My kids ate it up and requested that I make just plain squash the next day. This recipe is a keeper for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2008
I knew I would like this recipe, because I love this sort of food. Like the recipe says, it lends itself well to substitutions and/or additions. I used one chipotle pepper as I had a half can of extra hot rotel to use up. Next time I will use all chipotle peppers for heat, as I missed out on the smokiness two peppers would have given it. I added a can of pinto beans, as I like a more stew like soup. I used cilantro instead of parsley, dried basil, and veg, broth and water instead of chicken broth to make it vegetarian. My squash was already cooked, so I added it with the beans and liquids after sauteing the onion, carrot, and celery. I added some leftover roasted red pepper leftover from pizza night, but I don't think it was enough to change the flavor any. I think it would be fun to add something green like kale to give it more color. I also think almost any leftover meat could be added (though what do I know, I haven't eaten the stuff in 15 years).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Jackson Hole, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2009
It's great! Vary the hotness with the adobo sauce. I know that one is supposed to seed the chiles but I didn't bother. Have not used the sour cream, but the lime is REALLY important. Didn't have it the first time, but the adobo sauce cries out for lime...Also, I zap (microwave) the squash initially for a couple of minutes and it is MUCH easier to peel. This also freezes well. THANKS
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2009
Very good soup. I needed to use a butternut squash that had been sitting on my counter, and this popped up on an ingredient search. I'm always looking for healthy and/or vegetarian soups. This one fits the bill of healthy, so it was a great one to try. I used the whole squash (probably about 3 cups or so) and a large Vidalia onion. I also had to sub a few ingredients (used adobo seasoning instead of the separate spices, black and pinto beans--3 cans because I like it nice and thick like a stew--and fire-roasted crushed tomatoes instead of diced). Served with the accompaniments called for as well as chopped avocadoes. To the reviewer who used 2 CANS of chipotle (and to anyone making this in the future!), please note that the recipe calls for 2 CANNED chipotle peppers rather than 2 whole cans! 2 peppers add a nice note of heat but not too much. Oh, and I didn't bother to seed the peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wisweetp

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2007
Betsy, I am so sorry you miss read the recipe. It is two peppers from a can of chipotles, not two cans of chipotles. Wow, I bet that was spicy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elm Mott, Texas, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2008
Very good, hearty soup! The only change I made the first time was to use vegetable broth rather than chicken. The second time I made it I increased the amount of chipotle peppers because we like spicy food. We skipped the cheese, though. Even though I'm a huge fan of cheese the soup has plenty of flavor and really doesn't need the cheese (or added fat and sodium). It makes a very big pot of soup, and the reheated leftovers are great, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mesquite, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
I skipped the cheese and substituted (mild) minced chilies for the Chipotle peppers. I liked this recipe because butternut squash can taste too sweet and the ingredients prevent the squash from over powering everything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wmihalo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hammond, Indiana, USA
Living In: Munster, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2007
I neglected to add in the peppers since our grocery store doesn't carry them but the recipe turned out great with a little extra seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen van Buren

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chelmsford, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Tyngsboro, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2007
I don't mind spicy foods, but the 2 cans of chipotle peppers in adobe sauce made this soup WAY too spicy. Tried to fix it by going heavier on the butternut squash and adding a lot more chicken stock, and black beans, but the spice wouldn't quite go away. The flavor was good but everyone was breathing fire! I also blended the soup because the appearance and texture of it looked like vegetable soup. I would except a thicker consistency for a bean and squash soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
Wonderful soup that cooks quickly for its hearty flavor. I especially appreciate how flexible it is ... the chipotles are key and everything else works around it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States