Mexican Bean and Squash Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2009
It's great! Vary the hotness with the adobo sauce. I know that one is supposed to seed the chiles but I didn't bother. Have not used the sour cream, but the lime is REALLY important. Didn't have it the first time, but the adobo sauce cries out for lime...Also, I zap (microwave) the squash initially for a couple of minutes and it is MUCH easier to peel. This also freezes well. THANKS
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2009
I tried this because I had some squash to use up, and used lentils and butter beans because that's what I had in the cupboard. It went so quick, I didnt even have time to get the toppings ready. Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Noblesville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2009
This was very good, but a tad bit bland. I suggest maybe cooking in a crock pot for a longer period of time to get the flavors to truly meld together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon Pedigo Skaggs

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hubbard, Ohio, USA
Living In: Vienna, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2008
Very good, hearty soup! The only change I made the first time was to use vegetable broth rather than chicken. The second time I made it I increased the amount of chipotle peppers because we like spicy food. We skipped the cheese, though. Even though I'm a huge fan of cheese the soup has plenty of flavor and really doesn't need the cheese (or added fat and sodium). It makes a very big pot of soup, and the reheated leftovers are great, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mesquite, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
Loved this soup! I increased the veggies (a whole big onion, more celery and carrots), used 1 1/2 qts of water instead of chicken broth to make it vegetarian, used 3 chipotle peppers which made it spicy enough that I didn't let my dog have a taste but not too spicy for the vegetable flavors to come through, and added some chopped mustard greens. Used red kidney beans because I didn't have the white ones. I didn't bother with the toppings which brought the calories down under 200 per serving and much lower fat. It was delicious. Thumbs up from my husband, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2008
For all the work I did prepping the impossible-to-cut squash to go into this soup, it wasn't nearly as good as I was hoping it would be. It was my first time preparing anything using butternut squash and I was really disappointed with the results. Maybe it's because I can't buy limes here out of season and I nixed the tortilla chips and cheese to keep it lower in fat and calories... maybe those things make all the difference (as tasty, high-fat additions usually do!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lewistown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2008
I knew I would like this recipe, because I love this sort of food. Like the recipe says, it lends itself well to substitutions and/or additions. I used one chipotle pepper as I had a half can of extra hot rotel to use up. Next time I will use all chipotle peppers for heat, as I missed out on the smokiness two peppers would have given it. I added a can of pinto beans, as I like a more stew like soup. I used cilantro instead of parsley, dried basil, and veg, broth and water instead of chicken broth to make it vegetarian. My squash was already cooked, so I added it with the beans and liquids after sauteing the onion, carrot, and celery. I added some leftover roasted red pepper leftover from pizza night, but I don't think it was enough to change the flavor any. I think it would be fun to add something green like kale to give it more color. I also think almost any leftover meat could be added (though what do I know, I haven't eaten the stuff in 15 years).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Jackson Hole, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2008
great recipe - substitutions made - some from necessity - others by choice - zucchini, cilantro and black beans instead of acorn, parsley and white beans. I omitted the cheese and added cubed avocado at the end. I'll try it later with the cheese as I expect it adds something. yummy soup and uses some of my zucchini from the garden
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beatrix

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2008
So delicious! I completely left out the chipotle peppers, and it didn't make this any less tasty. Don't leave out the lime juice because it adds a great flavor to the broth. I'm not sure if it was a mistake in the recipe, but I only used 2 cans of chicken broth (4 cups) b/c it was all I had on hand. It seemed like the right amount of liquid to me. So I'm wondering if the 2 quarts of chicken broth may have been in error? 1 quart would have been plenty. The sweetness of the squash and the texture were just so good! My kids ate it up and requested that I make just plain squash the next day. This recipe is a keeper for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2007
I neglected to add in the peppers since our grocery store doesn't carry them but the recipe turned out great with a little extra seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen van Buren

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chelmsford, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Tyngsboro, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States