Mexican Bean and Squash Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2014
Excellent. We needed to get rid of some frozen vegetables and a squash. Turned out great. I sauted 3 cubed chicken breasts, added quite a bit of spice and less broth. I cooked the soup on the crock pot. It was one of those taste and add something dishes so I doubt I could reproduce it exactly. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TEFARMER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chatham, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2014
Loved the spice blend. I used only 1can of Chipolptle in Adobo and strained the chilies rather than seeding them, pushing the pulp through the strainer. I used yellow squash instead of butternut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scituate, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2014
I used Rotel diced tomatoes with green chillies and added Adobo seasoning since I didn't have any chipotle peppers in Adobo sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2014
I made this recipe as an alternative to Chicken Tortilla Soup after my daughter turned vegetarian. The family really enjoyed it despite the fact that I have vocal butternut squash haters. Some alterations I made: I had already pre-roasted squash in my fridge. Half of this I mixed in when instructed to in the recipe, which took on a mashed texture because of being already cooked. I used all dry spices instead of fresh. I added leeks, peas, and doubled the beans. I did not have chipotle peppers in adobo, so I added chopped green chilis and abobo ingredients (oregano, garlic, turmeric). At the end, I added the remaining cubes of butternut squash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2014
Yeah, I misread the recipe as well in regards to 2 chipotle peppers, NOT 2 CANS! However, it was still really flavorful and I can't wait to follow directions next time and use a single pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2013
I love this soup! It's great during the winter. I've been making this recipe for years, and just realized that I had never reviewed it. I stick pretty close to the original recipe, but use way more veggies, so it's more of a stew than a soup, and I only use one Chipotle pepper. The lime juice is a must, but the toppings are definitely optional. It's fun to use them, but not necessary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela W

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
Very nice soup, the lime at the end gives it a nice tang. Not sure that basil was the best idea, next time I think I'll try for mexican oregano or something. chipotle peppers add a nice touch. Definitely increase the amount of cumin, 1 tsp. wasn't enough for me. Thanks for sharing your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: College Park, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2012
I love this soup! I am not one to eat soup ever but I had some butternut squash to use up and found this recipe. It is easy to make and I like that it looks the same net next day when you pull it out of the fridge to eat. No fat or oils to clean off the top. This makes a great base to add any protein you may like. And to the lady that added 2 cans of peppers..... it said 2 peppers from "A" can.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tristin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
This is seriously one of the most delicious soups I have ever made. Here are my modifications: - I used a whole small butternut squash - minced the onion, carrot and celery as I don't really like chunky onion and celery in my soups - used 1 can of chipotle peppers and one can of mild green chiles - used 1 quart of vegetable broth - added a can of black beans in addition to the cannellini beans I really LOVE lime so when I served it I actually used half a of lime for each bowl. My husband said it was awesome. I will most definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2012
What to do with too many butternut squash in one's garden...this is perfect. I changed this up to work with what I had on hand and to please my daughter who hates spicy dishes. I also used vegetarian broth and then used an immersion blender before adding the cannelloni beans and corn. Immersion blenders make the soup look fancier and hide the tomatoes from the fussy child. Very good soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States