Mexican Bean and Rice Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
This was excellent! I was out of limes so I used cider vinegar, and it turned out awsome. It's got so much nutrition packed into one dish that I might end up just eating a big bowl for lunch. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
As someone who can only take cold lunches to work, I look for as many "salad" possibilities as possible. This is a fantastic addition to my lunch and tons of leftovers for more lunches or to serve guests as a snack! The taste is incredible! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ShannDe

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2010
This is the BEST!!!! Easy, delicious and I get tons of compliments. I've also used it as topping for tacos and burgers. Great stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Whittier

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Kent, Maine, USA
Living In: Sanford, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2010
Very good as written but I did add a diced up a small tomato.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Winston

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hanover, Indiana, USA
Living In: Rochester, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2010
Excellent recipe! Healthy and delicious. I used pinto beans instead of kidney and 1 red pepper cause that's what I had. Also used grilled fresh sweet corn instead of canned. But this is my next carry-in dish for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Marys, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2010
Fresh and fabulous! Only used one jalapeño and I only had white rice on hand - will try the recipe as it is next time! Awesome!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2010
This is a very flavorful recipe that is easy to fix, a nice balance of plant proteins, and not high in calories. Perfect for someone like me who has an abundance of fresh jalapeno peppers growing and is looking for good ways to use them. When I cut up the hot peppers, I wear disposable gloves to keep from getting the hot on my fingers. Since I did not have a fresh bell pepper, I used some pickled from a jar and that added a nice flavor too. I used brown rice as directed in the recipe and was pleased with the result. For variety, the next time I make it, I will try another whole grain rice such as red or black, both available in Asian markets. I might also try adding a tablespoon or two of oil to the salad. This salad will be one that I look forward to bringing to a potluck at church especially during periods of fasting from meat and dairy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2010
I love how this recipe uses all whole foods. I used 1/2c. each of dried black turtle beans and red kidney beans (soaked overnight then boiled 1 hour). Allowing the flavours to blend over a few hours (or making it a day ahead) adds a whole new dimension to this tasty dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2010
Good flavor and a nice way to add beans to the diet. Made with refried beans. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2010
It was good. A little plain. I added grilled chicken and used corn tortilla wraps. Also added salsa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eeekberry

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albany, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 134) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mexican Bean Salad

A perfect potluck partner. Three beans, corn, peppers, and plenty of kick.

Herbed Rice and Spicy Black Bean Salad

Watch how to make this easy, healthy dish.

Mexican Rice II

See how to make easy, tasty Mexican rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States