Mexican Bean and Rice Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
This was an excellent salad! I used quinoa cooked in a vegetable broth, instead of brown rice, and added a can of green chiles and one red bell pepper. I also added one lemon, juiced, and topped it off with slices of avocado. My husband loved it, and I have a hard time getting him to trade quinoa for rice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
I really, really wanted to like this but it's sooooo dry & pretty bland! Even after some major tweaking, it wasn't up to par. Sorry:(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
My husband and I loved this! I did add avacado and a little olive oil, but even without it, it was fantastic, and so healthy. Great recipe, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2010
great! i did leave out the jalapeno peppers and added a bag for frozen mangoes that I diced up. this was excellent served with tortilla chips with "a hint of lime"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
This was excellent! I was out of limes so I used cider vinegar, and it turned out awsome. It's got so much nutrition packed into one dish that I might end up just eating a big bowl for lunch. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
As someone who can only take cold lunches to work, I look for as many "salad" possibilities as possible. This is a fantastic addition to my lunch and tons of leftovers for more lunches or to serve guests as a snack! The taste is incredible! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ShannDe

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2010
This is the BEST!!!! Easy, delicious and I get tons of compliments. I've also used it as topping for tacos and burgers. Great stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Whittier

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Kent, Maine, USA
Living In: Sanford, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2010
Very good as written but I did add a diced up a small tomato.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Winston

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hanover, Indiana, USA
Living In: Rochester, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2010
Excellent recipe! Healthy and delicious. I used pinto beans instead of kidney and 1 red pepper cause that's what I had. Also used grilled fresh sweet corn instead of canned. But this is my next carry-in dish for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Marys, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2010
Fresh and fabulous! Only used one jalapeño and I only had white rice on hand - will try the recipe as it is next time! Awesome!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 138) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mexican Bean Salad

A perfect potluck partner. Three beans, corn, peppers, and plenty of kick.

Herbed Rice and Spicy Black Bean Salad

Watch how to make this easy, healthy dish.

Mexican Rice III

Watch how to make this top-rated Mexican rice dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States