Mexican Bean and Rice Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
This salad is very good, and has provided a basis for me to personalize it to my tastes. I didn't have any jalapenos, which I'm assuming would have added an extra punch. I made mine with black beans and pinto beans (not kidney), frozen thawed corn, red pepper in addition to the green pepper, 3 limes instead of one, 2 tbsp. olive oil, 2 cloves minced garlic, 8 oz. Monterey Jack Cheese cut into small cubes, 1 can of sliced olives, and 1 tsp. sea salt. Next time I make this, I will add the jalapeno and use green onion instead of a regular onion, and maybe more cheese. Tomatoes and avocado could be added as well. There are so many possibilities with this wonderful salad! Also, this salad does have the potential to be dry. Tonight on my way home from work I bought a bottle of Newman's Own Light Lime salad dressing which I added to this salad. It was delicious and added a nice sweetness. I also plan on trying this with the cilantro-lime dressing by Lin on this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Renton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
I made this with black beans, pinto beans and garbanzo beans, cilantro, jalepeno, corn, onion and rice. It is delicious. We ate it spooned into tortilla chips, but would have been good as a salad or in a burrito as well. I'll make it again. It was fast, easy, healthy and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
Excellent salad. Easy to make. I only used one jalepano since I had kids eating it as well and they loved it! It is great to make the night before and just grab and go if you are bringing it to a party. Pretty presentation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lmm3c

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
I made this just as it stated and it was awesome. I brought it to a benefit party, and everyone raved about it and asked for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Surfer Geek

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Redding, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
This rice is very flavorful, the only thing I thought it needed was some more juice so I think that next time I would use 2 limes instead of one. This recipe is highly recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
Very fresh and light. It would be great without the rice too as more of a dip or with quinoa. I added some tomatoes and ate it with blue corn chips. It needed that extra crunch. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CupOfNina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ansonia, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
Delicious!! I added a little more cumin and left out the jalapeno peppers. Put in a flour tortilla with some blackened chicken for lunch! Absolutely yummy! I'll be making this again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gonesouth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rocky Mount, Virginia, USA
Living In: Herndon, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
This was an excellent salad! I used quinoa cooked in a vegetable broth, instead of brown rice, and added a can of green chiles and one red bell pepper. I also added one lemon, juiced, and topped it off with slices of avocado. My husband loved it, and I have a hard time getting him to trade quinoa for rice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
I really, really wanted to like this but it's sooooo dry & pretty bland! Even after some major tweaking, it wasn't up to par. Sorry:(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
My husband and I loved this! I did add avacado and a little olive oil, but even without it, it was fantastic, and so healthy. Great recipe, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 135) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mexican Bean Salad

A perfect potluck partner. Three beans, corn, peppers, and plenty of kick.

Herbed Rice and Spicy Black Bean Salad

Watch how to make this easy, healthy dish.

Mexican Rice II

See how to make easy, tasty Mexican rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States