Mexican Bean and Rice Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
I made this with black beans, pinto beans and garbanzo beans, cilantro, jalepeno, corn, onion and rice. It is delicious. We ate it spooned into tortilla chips, but would have been good as a salad or in a burrito as well. I'll make it again. It was fast, easy, healthy and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
Excellent salad. Easy to make. I only used one jalepano since I had kids eating it as well and they loved it! It is great to make the night before and just grab and go if you are bringing it to a party. Pretty presentation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lmm3c

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
I made this just as it stated and it was awesome. I brought it to a benefit party, and everyone raved about it and asked for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Surfer Geek

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Redding, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
This rice is very flavorful, the only thing I thought it needed was some more juice so I think that next time I would use 2 limes instead of one. This recipe is highly recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
Very fresh and light. It would be great without the rice too as more of a dip or with quinoa. I added some tomatoes and ate it with blue corn chips. It needed that extra crunch. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CupOfNina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ansonia, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
Delicious!! I added a little more cumin and left out the jalapeno peppers. Put in a flour tortilla with some blackened chicken for lunch! Absolutely yummy! I'll be making this again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gonesouth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rocky Mount, Virginia, USA
Living In: Herndon, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
This was an excellent salad! I used quinoa cooked in a vegetable broth, instead of brown rice, and added a can of green chiles and one red bell pepper. I also added one lemon, juiced, and topped it off with slices of avocado. My husband loved it, and I have a hard time getting him to trade quinoa for rice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
I really, really wanted to like this but it's sooooo dry & pretty bland! Even after some major tweaking, it wasn't up to par. Sorry:(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
My husband and I loved this! I did add avacado and a little olive oil, but even without it, it was fantastic, and so healthy. Great recipe, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2010
great! i did leave out the jalapeno peppers and added a bag for frozen mangoes that I diced up. this was excellent served with tortilla chips with "a hint of lime"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 134) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mexican Bean Salad

A perfect potluck partner. Three beans, corn, peppers, and plenty of kick.

Herbed Rice and Spicy Black Bean Salad

Watch how to make this easy, healthy dish.

Mexican Rice II

See how to make easy, tasty Mexican rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States