Mexican Bean and Rice Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2011
I made 5 servings and ate it for lunch everyday for a week and it was so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2011
Great salad. Made it with the Chicken and Garlic recipe and they complimented each other perfectly. Nice and light and refreshing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
This doesn't seem like it would have a lot of flavor, but it's delicious! I add a little bit of olive oil and salt for fullness of flavor, and it is a favorite side dish for our family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
We put this in burritos with some refried beans (ya, a lot of beans) and sour cream. Seriously, this was amazing. It tasted just like take out. I skipped the cilantro due to personal taste, used a bit of oregano instead. Thank you for the recipe!! Note: this makes a lot of food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2011
This is a pretty good recipe, though next time I might add a little evoo. The changes I made were minimal: 1) used a single serano pepper insead of 2 jalapeno's because the store was out 2) Upped the cilantro to 1/2 cup because I love the stuff 3) reduced the rice to 1 cup to cut back on some of the carbs 4) only used 1/2 of a red onion 5) accidentally omitted the lime zest, 6) subbed 2 tsps of garlic powder for the minced garlic (and next time will probably actually add even more 7) omitted the salt 8) added in some cracked black pepper. This is a fiber rich meal that is great for me when I am flying because it travels well & I can eat healthier as opposed to picking up a burger during a layover. However, I still prefer the Nutty Brown Rice Salad on this site ALOT more than this recipe. Thanks though for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ADZELL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
This salad is very good, and has provided a basis for me to personalize it to my tastes. I didn't have any jalapenos, which I'm assuming would have added an extra punch. I made mine with black beans and pinto beans (not kidney), frozen thawed corn, red pepper in addition to the green pepper, 3 limes instead of one, 2 tbsp. olive oil, 2 cloves minced garlic, 8 oz. Monterey Jack Cheese cut into small cubes, 1 can of sliced olives, and 1 tsp. sea salt. Next time I make this, I will add the jalapeno and use green onion instead of a regular onion, and maybe more cheese. Tomatoes and avocado could be added as well. There are so many possibilities with this wonderful salad! Also, this salad does have the potential to be dry. Tonight on my way home from work I bought a bottle of Newman's Own Light Lime salad dressing which I added to this salad. It was delicious and added a nice sweetness. I also plan on trying this with the cilantro-lime dressing by Lin on this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Renton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
I made this with black beans, pinto beans and garbanzo beans, cilantro, jalepeno, corn, onion and rice. It is delicious. We ate it spooned into tortilla chips, but would have been good as a salad or in a burrito as well. I'll make it again. It was fast, easy, healthy and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
Excellent salad. Easy to make. I only used one jalepano since I had kids eating it as well and they loved it! It is great to make the night before and just grab and go if you are bringing it to a party. Pretty presentation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lmm3c

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
I made this just as it stated and it was awesome. I brought it to a benefit party, and everyone raved about it and asked for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Surfer Geek

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Redding, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
This rice is very flavorful, the only thing I thought it needed was some more juice so I think that next time I would use 2 limes instead of one. This recipe is highly recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 140) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mexican Bean Salad

A perfect potluck partner. Three beans, corn, peppers, and plenty of kick.

Herbed Rice and Spicy Black Bean Salad

Watch how to make this easy, healthy dish.

Mexican Rice III

Watch how to make this top-rated Mexican rice dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States