Mexican Bean and Rice Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2012
Nice flavors throughout. Can get a little dry with the brown rice. I recommend adding a little oil/vinegar/hot sauce to add some moisture and jazz it up a little bit more. Great healthy lunch idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
Absolutely wonderful, light and low fat! I just used black beans since I had bought an 8 pack at Costco and was looking for black bean receipes and found this....Let sit in the fridge overnight, excellent lunch with rotisserie chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2012
I liked this dish, but it needs something...Not quite sure what.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LuvMyLab
Home Town: Judith Gap, Montana, USA
Living In: Great Falls, Montana, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
I have used a version of this recipe that uses a can of finely diced chilies and a dressing of olive oil, red wine vinegar, 1 tsp. each minced garlic, chili powder, marjoram and ground cumin. The extra red wine vinegar, marjoram and chili powder helped increase the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2011
Love it... with minimal changes. I used 2 cans of Black beans instead of kidney. Used green onions, green chilies (instead of jalapeno). Added chili powder, onion powder. Used 2 limes, dash of balsamic vinegar and EVOO for the dressing. Definitely let it sit overnight. My co-workers loved it :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portage, Michigan, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
This salad is great..a day or two later. It definately needs to chill in order for the flavors to blend. My family loves it warmed up and with sour cream. It's great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2011
This turned out very tasty, I served it with tequila chicken. My vegetarian daughter enjoyed it warmed in a tortilla with cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2011
A favorite with our family. I've taken it to pot lucks and it's always a hit. Nice vegetarian dish. The cilantro really gives it a fresh taste. Left out the jalapeno peppers and added sweet red pepper for color. With or without the rice, it really makes a nice dip with with scoops.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jazzy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Stow, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2011
I love bean salads and this had great potential...but you seriously need to at least triple the dressing and I also added some olive oil....very dry otherwise and the rice just soaks up any liquid so I highly suggest to make a light dressing with the fresh lime juice, olive oil, etc. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
I made some minor changes to suit our tastes. I used parsley instead of cilantro and skipped the onion. I used granulated garlic instead of the fresh and used only one jalapeno. I added some fresh tomatoes and black olives for more color and taste. The lime juice wasn't quite enough flavor for the dressing so I added some olive oil and extra cumin. That pulled everything together into a delicious and healthy dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 140) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mexican Bean Salad

A perfect potluck partner. Three beans, corn, peppers, and plenty of kick.

Herbed Rice and Spicy Black Bean Salad

Watch how to make this easy, healthy dish.

Mexican Rice III

Watch how to make this top-rated Mexican rice dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States