Mexican Bean and Rice Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 10, 2013
Loved it! But I must admit I changed it up a bit, mostly because of my two kids, so left out the jalapeno peppers, added more lime juice and garlic salt, also I used regular long grain rice.all in all, it was delish! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by beerUs

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2013
I love this, I cant stop eating it. I've made this for friends at work for Cinco de Mayo. I'm not sure if I should serve this hot or cold with tortilla chips and a side of sour cream. I did omit the kidney beans and just went with black beans. Definitely use a fresh squeezed lime over the top. Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 1, 2013
My family loved this! I used black rice (very healthy) and since I didn't have a hot pepper I used 1tsp of chili peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2013
If you want a little extra zing, try adding a can or two of Rotel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2013
Delicious! I made this with the Quick Fish Tacos recipe. I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2013
1st time I made it, we liked this, but it just "needed something." Tried some left-overs with a little Tiger sauce, and that was good. Heated some left-overs and added some shredded rotisserie chicken and cheddar cheese, and it was a lot like a Chipotle burrito bowl... very good. Heating reduced the cilantro flavor, so added a little more fresh cilantro after heating. 2nd time I made it I used Jasmine rice, and it was great! No other changes needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marcia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Manalapan, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
Good, but a bit dry. Would add more lime and cook the rice with too much water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Virginia, USA
Living In: Ashburn, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2012
This is a great, fresh-tasting salad for the summertime. We made it for a party, and I think it may be a "love it or hate it" type of dish. I love it! But if you're not into beans and rice, you probably wouldn't! We thought it would also be good as a burrito filling, which is how we plan to eat our leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2012
I was excited about this recipe but it was very bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Clinton, Iowa, USA
Living In: Morrison, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2012
loved the flavors. I added a sprinkle of cyenne pepper and smoked paprika for some heat rather than using jalapino pepper. tasted great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 134) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mexican Bean Salad

A perfect potluck partner. Three beans, corn, peppers, and plenty of kick.

Herbed Rice and Spicy Black Bean Salad

Watch how to make this easy, healthy dish.

Mexican Rice II

See how to make easy, tasty Mexican rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States