Mexican Bean and Rice Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2013
Great basic recipe! I used 2 cans of black beans and added a can of tomatoes (that included cilantro and jalapeno). I also added two seeded tomatoes, subbed green onions for the onion, and made the dressing separate. For the dressing I used the juice of two limes mixed with garlic olive oil, 3 cloves of minced garlic, cilantro and my favorite Mexican hot sauce along with the cumin. I also added some Marisco's Mexican spice to the salad. This definitely needs to sit for a while to let all the flavors meld together. I'm glad I made it the night before my BBQ (unfortunately I keep taking a spoonful every time I go into the kitchen!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Courtney Woods
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2013
I followed the recipe exactly and it tasted so bland and dry. So I added in extra cumin, extra lime juice, garlic powder, chili powder, lemon pepper, and even some italian dressing. After those additions, we enjoyed it much more and it was edible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Courtney Woods

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fayetteville, Texas, USA
Living In: Columbus, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 27, 2013
Bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shell

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Farmersville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Wenatchee, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2013
Very good. Needed salt, but otherwise a nice salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2013
Loved it! But I must admit I changed it up a bit, mostly because of my two kids, so left out the jalapeno peppers, added more lime juice and garlic salt, also I used regular long grain rice.all in all, it was delish! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by beerUs

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2013
I love this, I cant stop eating it. I've made this for friends at work for Cinco de Mayo. I'm not sure if I should serve this hot or cold with tortilla chips and a side of sour cream. I did omit the kidney beans and just went with black beans. Definitely use a fresh squeezed lime over the top. Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 1, 2013
My family loved this! I used black rice (very healthy) and since I didn't have a hot pepper I used 1tsp of chili peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2013
If you want a little extra zing, try adding a can or two of Rotel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2013
Delicious! I made this with the Quick Fish Tacos recipe. I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2013
1st time I made it, we liked this, but it just "needed something." Tried some left-overs with a little Tiger sauce, and that was good. Heated some left-overs and added some shredded rotisserie chicken and cheddar cheese, and it was a lot like a Chipotle burrito bowl... very good. Heating reduced the cilantro flavor, so added a little more fresh cilantro after heating. 2nd time I made it I used Jasmine rice, and it was great! No other changes needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marcia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Manalapan, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 138) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mexican Bean Salad

A perfect potluck partner. Three beans, corn, peppers, and plenty of kick.

Herbed Rice and Spicy Black Bean Salad

Watch how to make this easy, healthy dish.

Mexican Rice III

Watch how to make this top-rated Mexican rice dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States