Mexican Bean and Rice Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2010
Good way to use up leftover brown rice. Wonderful with diced avacado (coat with lime juice to keep from turning brown) and served as a side dish with sliced beef or BBQ chicken. I usually use frozen corn to cool it down quickly. Don't forget the gloves when handling jalapeno peppers. Very healthy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by busymom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2010
Delicious! I didn't have any black beans and it was still great. Goes good with Tacos or chips or even plain.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2010
Not disappointed. I lacked kidney beans and lime juice, left out jalapenos completely, but added fresh ground pepper and some chili powder. Lime juice would definitely have gave it more oomph and rounded out the flavor, but it still turned out tasty! Perhaps reviewers who call this recipe bland don't usually eat or like the taste of fresh vegetables...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2010
Made this for a huge crowd (scaled recipe up to feed 50) and was really easy to assembly even at that size. I gave it 4 out of 5 stars because I did change the recipe a little. First, I found the Jalapenos added a nice brightness to the dish but not really any noticable heat, so I served the dish along side a bottle of our favorite hot sauce, letting the guests add heat if they wanted. Also, I added advocado (as another user suggested) and added more fresh lime juice -tossing the avocados in some of the lime juice to keep them from browning. When served the recipe got rave reviews and I sent the recipe home with a bunch of people.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
This is so good! I used white rice and all black beans due to what I had on hand. I also used canned jalapenos and frozen corn. I added some chili powder and it was fabulous! I highly recommend this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nurse Ellen so not a

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Agoura Hills, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
Delicious and simple. It was perfect on top of some spinach with some crumbled tortilla chips sprinkled on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Strongsville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by amandak23k
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2010
I made this to take for lunch and it was really good and filling. I did scale the recipe down for just one serving. I used 1/2 cup instant brown rice, 1/2 can each of black beans, kidney beans and corn, with some diced onion and green bell pepper, kept the 2 jalapenos and used the lime juice in the lime thing, some garlic powder cayenne and salt/pepper. Great lunch! Will make again, Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amandak23k

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2009
Good but a little dry. Maybe I should have used more lime juice like some others suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2009
It is difficult to get our kids to eat veggies, but not with this salad. We make the salad more or less according to the directions and enjoy it very much. We have also taken this dish to church for a pot luck where it was very well received. Sorry we don't have any suggestions, but we strongly recommend you give it a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2009
WARNING: Use gloves when working with jalapeno peppers!! This was my first time, and I had no idea what the consequences are. My hands are on fire!!!! The recipe itself is great :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annawach99

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 140) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mexican Bean Salad

A perfect potluck partner. Three beans, corn, peppers, and plenty of kick.

Herbed Rice and Spicy Black Bean Salad

Watch how to make this easy, healthy dish.

Mexican Rice III

Watch how to make this top-rated Mexican rice dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States