Mexican Bean and Rice Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2010
This is a very flavorful recipe that is easy to fix, a nice balance of plant proteins, and not high in calories. Perfect for someone like me who has an abundance of fresh jalapeno peppers growing and is looking for good ways to use them. When I cut up the hot peppers, I wear disposable gloves to keep from getting the hot on my fingers. Since I did not have a fresh bell pepper, I used some pickled from a jar and that added a nice flavor too. I used brown rice as directed in the recipe and was pleased with the result. For variety, the next time I make it, I will try another whole grain rice such as red or black, both available in Asian markets. I might also try adding a tablespoon or two of oil to the salad. This salad will be one that I look forward to bringing to a potluck at church especially during periods of fasting from meat and dairy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2010
I love how this recipe uses all whole foods. I used 1/2c. each of dried black turtle beans and red kidney beans (soaked overnight then boiled 1 hour). Allowing the flavours to blend over a few hours (or making it a day ahead) adds a whole new dimension to this tasty dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2010
Good flavor and a nice way to add beans to the diet. Made with refried beans. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2010
It was good. A little plain. I added grilled chicken and used corn tortilla wraps. Also added salsa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eeekberry

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albany, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christie in NJ
Reviewed: May 15, 2010
This was awesome, although I did add some things. I added tomato and feta cheese, and also used just a dash of cumin, black beans, and chick peas instead of kidney, subbed white rice. Surprisingly yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christie in NJ

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Manville, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2010
Very nice salad - I added extra spice as we like it hot. We really enjoyed, but my favorite so far on the site is the Santa Fe Rice Salad. This is a close second!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2010
This salad looks very pretty and tastes good, but not great. It definately needs a kick. I added extra lime juice and some diced tomatoes and a bit of crushed red pepper, but it still needs a little something else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CLEO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Reading, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2010
I found this recipe when I was looking for a rice salad, so I used the white rice I had in my fridge. I left out the onion since my sweetie doesn't like raw onions and used the Resers black beans with lime and jalapeno. I did add some lime juice to give it a fresher taste and it was a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saratoga, California, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2010
Good way to use up leftover brown rice. Wonderful with diced avacado (coat with lime juice to keep from turning brown) and served as a side dish with sliced beef or BBQ chicken. I usually use frozen corn to cool it down quickly. Don't forget the gloves when handling jalapeno peppers. Very healthy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by busymom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2010
Delicious! I didn't have any black beans and it was still great. Goes good with Tacos or chips or even plain.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 138) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mexican Bean Salad

A perfect potluck partner. Three beans, corn, peppers, and plenty of kick.

Herbed Rice and Spicy Black Bean Salad

Watch how to make this easy, healthy dish.

Mexican Rice III

Watch how to make this top-rated Mexican rice dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States