Mexican Bean and Rice Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2009
One word - YUM! So light and simple; this will be a summer staple for us. My daughter - a fairly picky 11 year old, loved the salad before we put in the rice, and commented that it would make a wonderful salsa - I agree!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2009
YUM! I loved the combination of flavors in this! I didn't have jalapeno peppers so I left them out but then it seemed like it needed some spunk so I added a little hot sauce. Also, it says salt to taste, just FYI, I used a little salt when I cooked the rice and then added one tsp. salt to the whole mixture. I diced the green pepper and onion very small to keep them small in proportion to the main ingredients. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
86 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2009
This recipe was delicious and easy to make. I felt very virtuous eating this salad all week!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2009
I omitted the rice and replaced the kidney beans with another can of black beans and served as a salsa with homemade tortilla chips. I took home an empty bowl and many requests for the recipe. It is really a great for taking to a picnic or party because it still tastes great at room temperature. Because I hate chopping jalapenos I used a small can of chopped green chilis and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2009
Nice blend of flavors! Even with the jalapenos, I thought it needed some "oomph", so I kept doctoring it til I was happy with it. Great side dish! Thank you for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHARI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Owego, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2009
I served this at a party and it was a hit. Great dish for an outdoor party. We ate it with tortilla chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2009
Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2009
This is delicious and healthy at the same time. I think the lime and cilantro are the key. Very fresh taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2009
When my wife, who shuns all spicey hot foods, took her second serving spoon of this salad, I knew you had a winner! It is a great taste and high in protein. This could substitute for a meat in a summer meal. We'll do this one again. It is my policy to make a new recipe by-the-book the first time, then adjust if it seems necessary. I will double the Lime juice next time. Rick in Raleigh
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2009
I made this for a family gathering and it turned out really well.. I only used one jalapeno and I did use 2 limes other then that no changes. Everyone loved it and it worked well being gluten free also!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 138) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mexican Bean Salad

A perfect potluck partner. Three beans, corn, peppers, and plenty of kick.

Herbed Rice and Spicy Black Bean Salad

Watch how to make this easy, healthy dish.

Mexican Rice III

Watch how to make this top-rated Mexican rice dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States