Mexican Bean and Rice Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2012
I really love this recipe. It seems so healthy, flavorful and has such a nice crunch. It made a lot and I have happily eaten it everyday for lunch this week as well as going great with our burgers the first night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crick

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2012
I did not have any fresh jalapeno peppers so I used some from a jar of pickled Jalapenos that I had in the refrigerator. My family loved it. This recipe is so good and good for you. I highly recommend it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2012
I made this salad over the weekend for family and friends. I got mixed reviews from everyone, but mostly positive. I think for people that are not fond of lime will not like this salad. The changes I made were: 2 1/2 cups orzo,used pinto instead of kidney beans, I used a one pound container of Pico de Gallo for all the other ingredients and I used Paul Newman's Lite Lime salad dressing. Very refreshing salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2012
very good - only used one can of black beans and didn't have any jalapenos - it did need a bit of playing around with the spices to perk it up a bit, and it was a bit dry so I added just a bit of EVO - will def. make again-
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2012
I served this at a BBQ and my guests loved it! I made it pretty bland (no onion, no jalapeno, no green pepper, and no lime zest), but it was good with tortilla chips. For my lunch today, I added my leftover grilled chicken, to make it a meal. One of my guests took some home to put on burritos. Overall, this recipe is very EASY, very YUMMY, very HEALTHY, and very VERSATILE. A+ in my book!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2012
Made this last night and it was very quick and tasty! I had to add some hot sauce because I like things with a lil more kick or flavor but I like thise!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2012
For the healthiness of it, I wouid give this recipe a 5, but the flavor was a 3, so I gave it 4 stars. I did add 2 tbspn EVOO and about the same of balsamic vinegar. Definately could use some more herbs. We had it with chicken and veggie kabobs and it was a very healthy gluten free meal. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2012
Needed more flavor. Added a cup of medium salsa and some taco sauce. MUCH BETTER! May use green chile peppers next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2012
Outstanding. I could skip the entree's for this side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2012
Very good base recipe for those who like to experiment and a solid recipe as is for those who don't. (I switched green onion for regular onion and added about 1 T each red wine vinegar and olive oil to make more of a dressed salad. I'll try it without the added liquids next time but it still tasted great.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heidi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 134) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mexican Bean Salad

A perfect potluck partner. Three beans, corn, peppers, and plenty of kick.

Herbed Rice and Spicy Black Bean Salad

Watch how to make this easy, healthy dish.

Mexican Rice II

See how to make easy, tasty Mexican rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States