Mexican Bean and Rice Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2013
1st time I made it, we liked this, but it just "needed something." Tried some left-overs with a little Tiger sauce, and that was good. Heated some left-overs and added some shredded rotisserie chicken and cheddar cheese, and it was a lot like a Chipotle burrito bowl... very good. Heating reduced the cilantro flavor, so added a little more fresh cilantro after heating. 2nd time I made it I used Jasmine rice, and it was great! No other changes needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marcia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Manalapan, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
Good, but a bit dry. Would add more lime and cook the rice with too much water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Derek Lutz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Virginia, USA
Living In: Ashburn, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2012
This is a great, fresh-tasting salad for the summertime. We made it for a party, and I think it may be a "love it or hate it" type of dish. I love it! But if you're not into beans and rice, you probably wouldn't! We thought it would also be good as a burrito filling, which is how we plan to eat our leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2012
I was excited about this recipe but it was very bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Clinton, Iowa, USA
Living In: Morrison, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2012
loved the flavors. I added a sprinkle of cyenne pepper and smoked paprika for some heat rather than using jalapino pepper. tasted great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2012
I really love this recipe. It seems so healthy, flavorful and has such a nice crunch. It made a lot and I have happily eaten it everyday for lunch this week as well as going great with our burgers the first night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crick
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2012
I did not have any fresh jalapeno peppers so I used some from a jar of pickled Jalapenos that I had in the refrigerator. My family loved it. This recipe is so good and good for you. I highly recommend it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2012
I made this salad over the weekend for family and friends. I got mixed reviews from everyone, but mostly positive. I think for people that are not fond of lime will not like this salad. The changes I made were: 2 1/2 cups orzo,used pinto instead of kidney beans, I used a one pound container of Pico de Gallo for all the other ingredients and I used Paul Newman's Lite Lime salad dressing. Very refreshing salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2012
very good - only used one can of black beans and didn't have any jalapenos - it did need a bit of playing around with the spices to perk it up a bit, and it was a bit dry so I added just a bit of EVO - will def. make again-
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2012
I served this at a BBQ and my guests loved it! I made it pretty bland (no onion, no jalapeno, no green pepper, and no lime zest), but it was good with tortilla chips. For my lunch today, I added my leftover grilled chicken, to make it a meal. One of my guests took some home to put on burritos. Overall, this recipe is very EASY, very YUMMY, very HEALTHY, and very VERSATILE. A+ in my book!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Arielle Sherman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 139) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mexican Bean Salad

A perfect potluck partner. Three beans, corn, peppers, and plenty of kick.

Herbed Rice and Spicy Black Bean Salad

Watch how to make this easy, healthy dish.

Mexican Rice III

Watch how to make this top-rated Mexican rice dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States