Mexican Bean and Rice Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2014
This is really good, but does indeed need doctored some to heighten the flavor. I added evo, red wine vinegar and Tabasco. It's great alone, spooned over an avocado or in a tortilla with other fixings. Next time I'm going to add a diced tomato and chicken breast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
I added a good splash of red wine vinegar and substituted bottled line juice as I did not have a fresh lime. Great yummy side dish that no one would suspect as a diabetic recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2014
this was a good starting point.. i used what i had on hand as always.. leftover white rice and great northern beans.. added a bit more garlic and some chili powder.. also added more lemon (no limes) and wanted more acidity so i splashed some of the leftover "juice" from the curtido i had made.. forgot to add the onion but didn't feel it was needed at this point.. ty for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by just_jam

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Duarte, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
This is chilling in the fridge now. Early taste tests indicate it is absolutely fabulous, even better than I imagined. A wonderful taste of summer in the winter and a side that should be able to take a little heat in the summer. Thank-you so much for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2013
For the dressing I used 2/3 cup italian dressing to which I added 1 tsp cumin and 1 tsp lime juice. I also added some leftover cooked chicken. Great lunch salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2013
This salad was pretty good, but I thought the cumin was a bit overpowering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2013
I had a bad craving for burritos so I decided to make this to stuff in them.....WOW! DELISH.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2013
It was a nice light side dish, but surprisingly bland considering all the spices and flavors that are in there. I threw the leftovers in quesadillas with cheese and sour cream and those were fantastic. But as a stand alone dish, it wasn't great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2013
I made this for a cookout...and it was a really big hit! I will make it again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2013
Just made this recipe and it turned out great. Light and refreshing, as another reviewer put it. I omitted the kidney beans and added a frozen Mexican-style mix of corn, peppers, onions, black beans and spices, then added a diced avocado and threw in a little chili flake. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 139) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mexican Bean Salad

A perfect potluck partner. Three beans, corn, peppers, and plenty of kick.

Herbed Rice and Spicy Black Bean Salad

Watch how to make this easy, healthy dish.

Mexican Rice III

Watch how to make this top-rated Mexican rice dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States