Mexican Bean and Rice Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2009
Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2009
I omitted the rice and replaced the kidney beans with another can of black beans and served as a salsa with homemade tortilla chips. I took home an empty bowl and many requests for the recipe. It is really a great for taking to a picnic or party because it still tastes great at room temperature. Because I hate chopping jalapenos I used a small can of chopped green chilis and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2009
This recipe was delicious and easy to make. I felt very virtuous eating this salad all week!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2009
I served this at a party and it was a hit. Great dish for an outdoor party. We ate it with tortilla chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2009
One word - YUM! So light and simple; this will be a summer staple for us. My daughter - a fairly picky 11 year old, loved the salad before we put in the rice, and commented that it would make a wonderful salsa - I agree!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2009
Nice blend of flavors! Even with the jalapenos, I thought it needed some "oomph", so I kept doctoring it til I was happy with it. Great side dish! Thank you for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHARI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Owego, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2009
YUM! I loved the combination of flavors in this! I didn't have jalapeno peppers so I left them out but then it seemed like it needed some spunk so I added a little hot sauce. Also, it says salt to taste, just FYI, I used a little salt when I cooked the rice and then added one tsp. salt to the whole mixture. I diced the green pepper and onion very small to keep them small in proportion to the main ingredients. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2009
This was good, but I thought it needed some oomph, so I added some nice, vinegary hot sauce. I made a few minor subs based on personal preference: quinoa for rice, roasted Hatch green chiles for jalapeno (they're hotter and more flavorful), and green onions for white. I'd add some red wine vinegar and avocado if I made this again. Nice, hearty dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KymInNM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by larkspur
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2009
This is a wonderful salad! The combination of flavors is great; the lime gives the salad a wonderfully light, refreshing taste. Because my family doesn't care for spicy things (and because I didn't have any!) I omitted the jalapeno peppers, but this is still a very tasty, easy to make salad. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by larkspur

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by CookinBug
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2009
Excellent! Light, refreshing, and delicious. Only minor changes: I used a can of Mexicorn and omitted the onions out of preference. Thanks! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 130) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Mexican Bean Salad

This authentic salad is bright with colors and complex flavors.

Herbed Rice and Spicy Black Bean Salad

Watch how to make this easy, healthy dish.

Mexican Rice II

See how to make easy, tasty Mexican rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States