Mexican Bean and Rice Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2009
Not a lot of flavor as is - may take the suggestion about using Chili Powder to spice it up...it definitely needed something extra.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Snohomish, Washington, USA
Living In: Duvall, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2009
Excellent recipe. Had to substitute coriander for cilantro; added juice of second lime; substituted about 4 Tbsps of Tex-Mex spice for jalapenos & added some chopped red pepper. Used sea salt & added some freshly ground black pepper. Turned out really well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by judiann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2009
I've made this recipe twice this summer. I have to swap out the cilantro for parsley and added a dash of Chili Powder to spice it up a little. But is really good on hot/humid summer days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GLORYB2JC

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pjacko
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2009
great recipe. followed exactly. delicious + easy + healthy = win
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pjacko

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2009
I used chickpeas instead of kidney beans just because I don't like them. It came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HoffDNA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2009
Very good and different! Not hot like I thought, kind of bland, but good! I added it with salsa and leftover roast beef sliced to make a filling for soft shells. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 'Sharon Dunkerson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2009
I think this salad is SO great. You can add or subtract items based on your pantry and it will always work. Like I was out of corn one day! If you had the wonderful opportunity to have Galllo Y pinto in costa rica for Breakfast, it is very similar to this dish. If you have any left overs try it with scrambled eggs in the morning!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by geneen

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Santa Clara, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2009
Good, but only as a side dish or healthy snack (filling)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by arrdub

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2009
I left out the jalapeno all together as one of my guests has a "tender" mouth. It was delicious and everyone wanted the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2009
Simple, easy and delicious! I doubled the lime and cilantro, used half of a med. onion, and left out the garlic and salt. Next time, I will consider using only one jalapeno pepper. This was great with guac, wrapped in tortilla!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 138) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mexican Bean Salad

A perfect potluck partner. Three beans, corn, peppers, and plenty of kick.

Herbed Rice and Spicy Black Bean Salad

Watch how to make this easy, healthy dish.

Mexican Rice III

Watch how to make this top-rated Mexican rice dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States