Mexican Bean and Rice Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Photo by Christie in NJ
Reviewed: May 15, 2010
This was awesome, although I did add some things. I added tomato and feta cheese, and also used just a dash of cumin, black beans, and chick peas instead of kidney, subbed white rice. Surprisingly yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christie in NJ

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Manville, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2010
Very nice salad - I added extra spice as we like it hot. We really enjoyed, but my favorite so far on the site is the Santa Fe Rice Salad. This is a close second!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2010
This salad looks very pretty and tastes good, but not great. It definately needs a kick. I added extra lime juice and some diced tomatoes and a bit of crushed red pepper, but it still needs a little something else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CLEO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Reading, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2010
I found this recipe when I was looking for a rice salad, so I used the white rice I had in my fridge. I left out the onion since my sweetie doesn't like raw onions and used the Resers black beans with lime and jalapeno. I did add some lime juice to give it a fresher taste and it was a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saratoga, California, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2010
Good way to use up leftover brown rice. Wonderful with diced avacado (coat with lime juice to keep from turning brown) and served as a side dish with sliced beef or BBQ chicken. I usually use frozen corn to cool it down quickly. Don't forget the gloves when handling jalapeno peppers. Very healthy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by busymom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2010
Delicious! I didn't have any black beans and it was still great. Goes good with Tacos or chips or even plain.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2010
Not disappointed. I lacked kidney beans and lime juice, left out jalapenos completely, but added fresh ground pepper and some chili powder. Lime juice would definitely have gave it more oomph and rounded out the flavor, but it still turned out tasty! Perhaps reviewers who call this recipe bland don't usually eat or like the taste of fresh vegetables...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2010
Made this for a huge crowd (scaled recipe up to feed 50) and was really easy to assembly even at that size. I gave it 4 out of 5 stars because I did change the recipe a little. First, I found the Jalapenos added a nice brightness to the dish but not really any noticable heat, so I served the dish along side a bottle of our favorite hot sauce, letting the guests add heat if they wanted. Also, I added advocado (as another user suggested) and added more fresh lime juice -tossing the avocados in some of the lime juice to keep them from browning. When served the recipe got rave reviews and I sent the recipe home with a bunch of people.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
This is so good! I used white rice and all black beans due to what I had on hand. I also used canned jalapenos and frozen corn. I added some chili powder and it was fabulous! I highly recommend this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nurse Ellen so not a

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Agoura Hills, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
Delicious and simple. It was perfect on top of some spinach with some crumbled tortilla chips sprinkled on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Strongsville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 134) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mexican Bean Salad

A perfect potluck partner. Three beans, corn, peppers, and plenty of kick.

Herbed Rice and Spicy Black Bean Salad

Watch how to make this easy, healthy dish.

Mexican Rice II

See how to make easy, tasty Mexican rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States