Mexican Bean and Rice Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2013
For the dressing I used 2/3 cup italian dressing to which I added 1 tsp cumin and 1 tsp lime juice. I also added some leftover cooked chicken. Great lunch salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2013
This salad was pretty good, but I thought the cumin was a bit overpowering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2013
I had a bad craving for burritos so I decided to make this to stuff in them.....WOW! DELISH.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2013
It was a nice light side dish, but surprisingly bland considering all the spices and flavors that are in there. I threw the leftovers in quesadillas with cheese and sour cream and those were fantastic. But as a stand alone dish, it wasn't great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2013
I made this for a cookout...and it was a really big hit! I will make it again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2013
Just made this recipe and it turned out great. Light and refreshing, as another reviewer put it. I omitted the kidney beans and added a frozen Mexican-style mix of corn, peppers, onions, black beans and spices, then added a diced avocado and threw in a little chili flake. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2013
It tasted like one of chipotles burrito bowls... Which I love... the only thing is that it was pretty dry. I forgot to add garlic and cumin, but I added some spicy chicken for my husband who ended up LOVING it. I slopped on a ton of sour cream and I only gave four stars because of the dryness. Next time I might add more corn and beans. The beans and corn tasted awesome!! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2013
Great basic recipe! I used 2 cans of black beans and added a can of tomatoes (that included cilantro and jalapeno). I also added two seeded tomatoes, subbed green onions for the onion, and made the dressing separate. For the dressing I used the juice of two limes mixed with garlic olive oil, 3 cloves of minced garlic, cilantro and my favorite Mexican hot sauce along with the cumin. I also added some Marisco's Mexican spice to the salad. This definitely needs to sit for a while to let all the flavors meld together. I'm glad I made it the night before my BBQ (unfortunately I keep taking a spoonful every time I go into the kitchen!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Courtney Woods
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2013
I followed the recipe exactly and it tasted so bland and dry. So I added in extra cumin, extra lime juice, garlic powder, chili powder, lemon pepper, and even some italian dressing. After those additions, we enjoyed it much more and it was edible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Courtney Woods

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fayetteville, Texas, USA
Living In: Columbus, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 27, 2013
Bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shell

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Farmersville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Wenatchee, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 135) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Mexican Bean Salad

A perfect potluck partner. Three beans, corn, peppers, and plenty of kick.

Herbed Rice and Spicy Black Bean Salad

Watch how to make this easy, healthy dish.

Black Bean and Corn Salad II

See how to make a fresh, colorful Mexican-inspired salad and side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States