Mexican Bean and Rice Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2014
my falmily love it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maria Elena Madrid

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
GREAT combination of flavours, unluckily out of corn and lime, so substituted lemon. Added red wine vinegar as someone proposed and a little extra virgin olive oil. Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alice McVeigh

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orpington, Greater London, England, U.K.
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
I just used black beans as I halved the recipe and didn't want to open two cans of beans. I think it would benefit from more than one hour in the refrigerator to better develop flavors. I might add a bit more cumin, cilantro, onion and lime next time--and there will be a next time--just for personal preference. I garnished with diced tomato, slices of avocado and a wedge of lime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SherryL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2014
Surprisingly YUM! Used red pepper instead of green, green onion for the white onion. And, added a little olive oil and red wine vinegar. Did not have jalapeños, so added a few drops of smoked chipolte tabasco. Makes a TON. PS: Also, to make it even quicker to put together, used Trader Joe's frozen brown rice - just heat, cool and mix it all together. Will make this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LAURAMA

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 4, 2014
Really delicious and simple-to-make summer salad. I used a red pepper instead of green and only had key limes, so used four. Otherwise, I followed the recipe exactly. Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2014
We made this with fish tacos and chicken enchilada soup. The family liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2014
This is really good, but does indeed need doctored some to heighten the flavor. I added evo, red wine vinegar and Tabasco. It's great alone, spooned over an avocado or in a tortilla with other fixings. Next time I'm going to add a diced tomato and chicken breast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
I added a good splash of red wine vinegar and substituted bottled line juice as I did not have a fresh lime. Great yummy side dish that no one would suspect as a diabetic recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2014
this was a good starting point.. i used what i had on hand as always.. leftover white rice and great northern beans.. added a bit more garlic and some chili powder.. also added more lemon (no limes) and wanted more acidity so i splashed some of the leftover "juice" from the curtido i had made.. forgot to add the onion but didn't feel it was needed at this point.. ty for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Arcadia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
This is chilling in the fridge now. Early taste tests indicate it is absolutely fabulous, even better than I imagined. A wonderful taste of summer in the winter and a side that should be able to take a little heat in the summer. Thank-you so much for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 135) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Mexican Bean Salad

A perfect potluck partner. Three beans, corn, peppers, and plenty of kick.

Herbed Rice and Spicy Black Bean Salad

Watch how to make this easy, healthy dish.

Mexican Rice II

See how to make easy, tasty Mexican rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States